Exclamation unethical advertising practice

Hi All,

This weekend I was as usual checking my SE Ranking in Google and to my utter amazement I found out that Google shows AdWords advertisement on the "adrevolver" query. AdRevolver is my company's main product - ad server software. This word (or rather - my company's brand) is bid on by AdServerSolutions - one of our competitors. Having spent some time on testing other queries I found out that they are also utilizing other well-known companies' brand names, such as:

- AdJuggler
    - BanManPro
    - ValueAd

How legal is this? I find it highly disturbing that someone is using my company's brand to promote a competitive product.

I'm looking forward to your input on this situation.

Kindest regards,
    Eugene Kisly
    Last edited by Chicken; 11-05-2002 at 09:32 PM.

I'm not a lawyer, but I have thought about this before.

I really don't believe there would any legality issues, unless of course they were slandering your product/company. I really don't know-- first place to look would probably be Googles TOS. It would seem that this would be a common occurrence, so would be smart on Googles part to have something included in their TOS

Good luck-- I'm sure thats frustrating!

I think it's perfectly acceptable, and the title of this thread shows your built-in bias.
    I thank my Lord for all His wonderful blessings.

Google does it themselves. Check out the "sponsored link" at the top for the query "overture" as one example: it's for AdWords.

You could ask Google about it here,; I'd be interested in their reply. It's not at all uncommon, but I don't think I've ever heard any "official" comment on it.
    Specializing in SEO and PPC management.

Houston, Texas
    Consider it a compliment!

Why do you think Dialtone ads come up at Yahoo when you search for Rackshack?

It is a free service supported by advertising and placement fees. In other words, call it free enterprise.