Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    5

    php-nuke installation

    Right, I'm planning a website launch using hostrocket.com - I'm going to use Php-nuke hopefully.

    My questions are:

    1. Would I be able to install nuke remotely, via Telnet or what?
    2. Is it really difficult or can I just follow the INSTALL documentation in the php-nuke zip?
    3. What's PHPMyAdmin and do I need to install that as well?

    As you can probably tell from these questions, I'm not totally sure what I'm doing so any help would be much appreciated.

    Cheers,

    Ben.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    5,010
    You can just upload the files by following the directions and set permissions etc. Hostrocket should have a database and username setup for your mysql, once you edit the config file (conifg.php i think) with your db name, username and password you just need to type in the url or the install script ie: www.yourdomain.com/install.php it will walk you through the install and thats is Whamo! your done.. good luck

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,100
    Wrong, goto phpmyadmin, create a db, use the run query feature (click on browse and find the nuke.sql file in the SQL folder). Edit the config to match the details, then goto the site and register as admin. If ya need help ya know where I am

  4. #4
    bobcares is offline [email protected]
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    India, US, Germany
    Posts
    1,598
    Hi!
    I would suggest post nuke over phpnuke.
    You can install both without shell access.
    You'd need database access though. You phpmyadmin is a good idea...

    Have a great day

    regards
    amar
    A student once asked his teacher, "Master, what is enlightenment?"
    The master replied, "When hungry, eat. When tired, sleep. When you need care, come to bobcares...."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    677
    Some hosts have auto installers. Like AWH. Try them. It took me like 10 seconds to install phpnuke.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,100
    heh, took me less than 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    5,010
    Actually not wrong depending on what control panel you use.. Ensim autocreates a database called domain_tld when you create an account so actually neither of us are completely correct.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •