hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : VPS Hosting : PDO extension ?!
Reply

Forum Jump

PDO extension ?!

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 436

PDO extension ?!


One of my clients need some PDO extension ?!
What is PDO extension and how can i enable on Cpanel VPS.

is it secure to enabled? Do i need to enabled for all mysql databases or can i do it for single database ?

tis is the error what my clients is receiving:

Quote:
PDO extension. No Ask your web hosting provider to enable PDO extension.
PDO extension for either MySQL or SQLite. No Ask your web hosting provider to enable PDO extension for MySQL (or at least SQLite).



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Manila
Posts: 150
I presume it's CentOS/Redhat, the PHP extension is called php-pdo, make sure you also install php-mysql

  #3  
Old
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: EU & USA
Posts: 3,678
If you use cpanel; go to easyapache in WHT and recompile php with the pdo option. If your VPS has not enough memory available you might need to do it by the commandline interface of easyapache.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 436
Yes i use Cpanel. is PSO use more memory? is it secure to enabled it ?

  #5  
Old
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: EU & USA
Posts: 3,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumi View Post
Yes i use Cpanel. is PSO use more memory? is it secure to enabled it ?
You may find more about PDO here: http://dev.mysql.com/tech-resources/...mysql-pdo.html

note that the reason i mentioned memory was because easyapache recompiles apache and php and thus needs the resources available; doing this through WHM might cause you to use to much memory, you will see this warning on your screen when starting easyapache from WHT.

Obviously every module you use will use more memory, but that is not the part i warned about.

The real question would be which application your customer is going to run that uses PDO ; you might need to be more worried about that.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Healthcare.gov Extends $15 Million Terremark Cloud Contract (Again) Web Hosting News 2014-10-01 14:21:58
Hosting Providers, Wholesale Registrars Help Radix Roll Out .HOST New gTLD Web Hosting News 2014-09-02 15:28:09
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - July 3, 2014 Web Hosting News 2014-07-03 15:27:20
Healthcare.gov Extends Terremark Hosting Contract to Smooth Transition to HP Infrastructure Web Hosting News 2014-03-10 11:27:05
Mega Firefox Extension Speeds Up Downloads, Removes File Size Limits Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:22:29


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?