hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : You MOST DEFINITELY should NOT go with CanHost.Co.In
Reply

Dedicated Server Current and past experiences with dedicated server providers, bandwidth, and server performance. Review managed and unmanaged dedicated web servers, discuss both Windows and Unix dedicated server solutions, and discuss dedicated hosting providers. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

You MOST DEFINITELY should NOT go with CanHost.Co.In

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:16 PM
lifetalk lifetalk is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 276
Exclamation

You MOST DEFINITELY should NOT go with CanHost.Co.In


Was just browsing through the dedicated server offers board, and here's a thread I came across:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=863199

Took a look at their website and it seemed really similar. Checked up on
http://www.hostican.com

And VoILA!

http://www.canhost.co.in is a BIT by BIT rip of HostICan's design.
What's more?

Compare the testimonials..

http://www.hostican.com/whyus/testimonials.php
http://www.canhost.co.in/whyus/testimonials.php

Names changed, testimonials copied, word by word.
Site itself is hosted on Indian servers, not sure if this should impact it, but I guess that's how they've managed to stay up for so long?


This is ONE company you DON'T want your dedicated servers with!

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:20 PM
XeHSean XeHSean is offline
Reseller Hosting Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,823
Heh, very good find

__________________
XeHost.net - Hosting websites since 1999!
Shared Hosting, Cloud Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS Hosting, and Dedicated Servers
End-User Support, WHMCS, and WHMReseller Available on Reseller Plans!
Follow us on Twitter - new special every Sunday! @XeHost

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:25 PM
lifetalk lifetalk is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 276
They've put up offers on DP forums too. Goes to show they've been around with a scam for quite some time.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:22 PM
oldunis oldunis is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 275
Hmm, it could also be a template offered at monster template or something else...

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:35 PM
lifetalk lifetalk is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 276
How would you explain the direct copy of the testimonials?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:49 PM
Lenihan Lenihan is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 214
heh even the company name is almost the same.. CanHost / HostICan... the I probably was a typo when they registered and they decided to keep it lol

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:53 PM
lifetalk lifetalk is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 276
Although, one is a reputed company (in some regards) while the other is a rip-off

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-22-2009, 05:20 PM
JohnJ JohnJ is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifetalk View Post
Was just browsing through the dedicated server offers board, and here's a thread I came across:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=863199

Took a look at their website and it seemed really similar. Checked up on
http://www.hostican.com

And VoILA!

http://www.canhost.co.in is a BIT by BIT rip of HostICan's design.
What's more?

Compare the testimonials..

http://www.hostican.com/whyus/testimonials.php
http://www.canhost.co.in/whyus/testimonials.php

Names changed, testimonials copied, word by word.
Site itself is hosted on Indian servers, not sure if this should impact it, but I guess that's how they've managed to stay up for so long?


This is ONE company you DON'T want your dedicated servers with!
Wouldn't it be a little better just to develop your own ideas? I guess what ever is easiest is what some people try now days.

__________________
John J. - Sales Manager
Quality Shared and VPS Hosting
Hawk Host Inc. Proudly serving websites since 2004
PHP 5.3.x & PHP 5.4.x Support!


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-22-2009, 07:25 PM
Outlaw Web Master Outlaw Web Master is offline
Devil's Advocate
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 3,880
maybe they are a division of hostican but I don't think so.

there's a hostican member on here I'm sure, so maybe they can elaborate.

owm

__________________
‹(¿)›
Life's what you make it.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2009, 07:54 PM
JohnJ JohnJ is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outlaw Web Master View Post
maybe they are a division of hostican but I don't think so.

there's a hostican member on here I'm sure, so maybe they can elaborate.

owm
It seems that I've somehow managed to contact HostICan. Not exactly sure how that happened.
Quote:
Dear john,

Thank you for contacting HostICan Sales.

We do appreciate your interest in HostICan. Your inquiry was submitted to our sales department, and one of our sales associates will be in contact shortly.

For future reference, this will be your Sales Inquiry ID: FHW-379060

Please let us know if you have any further questions. We will be in contact shortly.

Best Regards,

HostICan Sales
HostICan Web Hosting
(Intl) +1 (804) 412-0390
(F) (804) 550-3339

__________________
John J. - Sales Manager
Quality Shared and VPS Hosting
Hawk Host Inc. Proudly serving websites since 2004
PHP 5.3.x & PHP 5.4.x Support!


Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-22-2009, 08:14 PM
lnxcode lnxcode is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 301
Hey guys!

Yes, they have stolen our design. Our legal folks are trying to get this resolved, but seem they are outside the US, making things a little harder.

I would agree that you should NOT under any circumstances signup for this company, that has stolen our design (HostICan), and using it as their own.

I would like to personally thank everyone in the WHT community for their support, as I'm sure you guys are aware about what its like when someone steals your design and poses that they are running a company.

Best Regards,

Denis
HostICan

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-22-2009, 08:16 PM
JohnJ JohnJ is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnxcode View Post
Hey guys!

Yes, they have stolen our design. Our legal folks are trying to get this resolved, but seem they are outside the US, making things a little harder.

I would agree that you should NOT under any circumstances signup for this company, that has stolen our design (HostICan), and using it as their own.

I would like to personally thank everyone in the WHT community for their support, as I'm sure you guys are aware about what its like when someone steals your design and poses that they are running a company.

Best Regards,

Denis
HostICan
Any idea about the ticket ID: FHW-379060?

__________________
John J. - Sales Manager
Quality Shared and VPS Hosting
Hawk Host Inc. Proudly serving websites since 2004
PHP 5.3.x & PHP 5.4.x Support!


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-22-2009, 08:21 PM
romes romes is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wadsworths, IL
Posts: 221
Everything is basicly copied. Look at testimonials, design, company page, etc. All the same.

__________________
RomesFans.com | Twitter Followers, and Web Traffic!



Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-23-2009, 03:14 AM
lifetalk lifetalk is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 276
^ That's what you call a rip-off.

Contacted HostICan, here's the response

Quote:
Hello,

Thank you for contacting HostICan Sales.

This site has been stolen from HostICan. Please don't buy anything from that company.
I've reported this to our legal team to resolve this issue.

Thank you for letting us know.


-----------------------------
HostICan Newsletter:
Did you know you can learn more about us?
http://www.hosticannewsletter.com

Ticket Details
===================
Department: General

They've been around for QUITE some time now,
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showt...hlight=canhost

November/December 2008.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-23-2009, 10:26 AM
JohnJ JohnJ is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifetalk View Post
^ That's what you call a rip-off.

Contacted HostICan, here's the response




They've been around for QUITE some time now,
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showt...hlight=canhost

November/December 2008.
Are they still actively advertising at DP?

__________________
John J. - Sales Manager
Quality Shared and VPS Hosting
Hawk Host Inc. Proudly serving websites since 2004
PHP 5.3.x & PHP 5.4.x Support!


Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?