hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : Game Servers : Regarding Dedicated Servers - L2
Reply

Forum Jump

Regarding Dedicated Servers - L2

Reply Post New Thread In Game Servers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9

Regarding Dedicated Servers - L2


Hello,

I'm interested in running a Lineage 2 emulator on a dedicated server. But I seem to be stumped when it comes to uploading anything to dedicated servers as well as choosing the right dedicated server. I'm a little left in the dark when it comes to actually taking the setup and "uploading" it (if you will) to the dedicated server in question. I also am not 100% sure which dedicated server company I should sign on with as far as quality/price goes. Any suggested companies would be appreciated. I'm planning to start small with maybe around a 200 user cap? This is flexible. My price range is also flexible depending on the possibilities. The highest monthly budget I'll go to is $200. These seem to be the best deals that I've come across:

http://www.fasthosts.co.uk/dedicatedservers/

http://www.webhosting.uk.com/dedicat...eb-hosting.php

http://www.datacentertalk.com/dedica...unmetered.html
If you haven't noticed, I'd prefer to work with someone operating out of somewhere in Europe. Thoughts? Opinions?

(I've been using Yahoo!'s currency converter to find out what it 'd cost me in US dollars: http://finance.yahoo.com/currency-co...amt=1%20%20%20)

On that first link, I was wondering if anyone could explain to me what the PM after the price means. Also, do any of the specs on these machines appear to be able to meet my needs?

I was also wondering if there are any known tutorials explaining the process involved with getting the server online and open to the public on a dedicated server. I'm uninformed but I'm ready and willing to learn. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Vernhunt

P.S. I did my best to read the stickies and post to the forum's specifications so hopefully I haven't stepped on anyone's toes in posting this.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 221
Lineage 2 emulator ?

Is that legal at all ?

You can check out RageZone - there are a lot of useful resources for all kind of MMORPG Hosting and involved.

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 233
With an L2J Emulated server its a good idea to start extremely small, however successful L2J servers are few and far between, as well from what I can remember optimizing L2J takes knowledge of knowing Java.

1-250 Players
1x 2.4Ghz+ CPU
1GB Ram
80GB+ HDD
10Mbps Port (Minimum, might as well get a 100Mbps)

Those specs should be more then enough to get yourself started.

As well I do believe the l2j website has a full guide on how to setup & install your server to get it to the point of being playable. There is an extensive resource on the L2Java website, I recommend you check it out.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Judging from what I've learned, OVH is the way to go. So I'm guessing that what I need to do is start off with the
SuperPlan BestOf?

http://www.ovh.co.uk/products/superplan_best_of.xml

I was wondering if someone would be willing to make suggestions as to how I should setup the server. (i.e. network bandwidth, operating system, distribution, etc.) I'm only planning to use it to run both the loginserver and gameserver off of to start things off.

Also, if someone were to be kind enough to explain to me what each setting is, what it does and why they think I should choose a particular setting, I'd be extremely grateful.

Thank you for caring and sharing your opinions.
rax1418

  #5  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 233
All of these settings can be found on L2J's homepage, as for bandwidth, and operating system just use something like RedHat or even CentOS. You should go with the basics for starting out in order to save money. There is tons of in depth guides just by searching on google.

__________________
FailGaming.com

  #6  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
I see, thank you for your input. I was wondering what you thought of the Z5MA03 package seen here:

http://www.zenex5ive.com/metered.php

...and which cPanel I should get with that if any.

Thanks again.
rax1418

  #7  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 233
That plan should be more then enough to get you started. You dont really need any control panel, but if you are going to want to host your website on the same server, go ahead and get cPanel.

__________________
FailGaming.com

  #8  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Alrighty, this is what I've ended up with:

2GB RAM
160 GB HD
Linux with CentOS
Unmetered Bandwidth
5 GB Backup Space

https://valueserver.de/

I was wondering what I need to do in order to access the web using PuTTY with Cygwin/X on the dedicated server that I purchased two days ago. I can manage logging in and using various commands but I cannot for the life of me figure out what needs to be done in order to access the internet through a browser of some sort and download what I need to have on the machine.

I was also wondering what needed to be done in order to transfer some files I have on my home PC to the dedicated server in question.

With the program PuTTY, all that I have to work with is a command prompt screen. I'm beginning to wonder if I should have just installed some type of Windows OS so I could use Remote Desktop.

Thank you.
Vernhunt

  #9  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vernhunt View Post
Alrighty, this is what I've ended up with:

2GB RAM
160 GB HD
Linux with CentOS
Unmetered Bandwidth
5 GB Backup Space

https://valueserver.de/

I was wondering what I need to do in order to access the web using PuTTY with Cygwin/X on the dedicated server that I purchased two days ago. I can manage logging in and using various commands but I cannot for the life of me figure out what needs to be done in order to access the internet through a browser of some sort and download what I need to have on the machine.

I was also wondering what needed to be done in order to transfer some files I have on my home PC to the dedicated server in question.

With the program PuTTY, all that I have to work with is a command prompt screen. I'm beginning to wonder if I should have just installed some type of Windows OS so I could use Remote Desktop.

Thank you.
Vernhunt
Please let us know how it works for you, as WHT loves the reviews!.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - May 23, 2014 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 17:06:57
JaguarPC Listing 2013-12-11 23:26:57
JaguarPC Listing 2014-09-20 20:42:20
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - November 1, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:42:41
UK Web Host Daily Internet Launches Dedicated Servers Packages Web Hosting News 2013-01-29 14:36:15


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?