
11-03-2002, 03:41 AM
|
|
Grumpy Redneck
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The South
Posts: 5,405
|
|
Ok got an email earlier this week.
Hi this is so and so at Paypal I tried to call you earlier please give me a call at your earliest convenience. etc etc
Ok I don't know about ya'll, but when I get an email like this from Paypal I get goose bumps in places you really shouldn't have goose bumps (not that I've ever had a single problem with Paypal, but I've read those sites and it worries me).
So I call, answered on the 3rd ring, by a person, not voice mail, and it was the person in the email (???).
Anyway, to make this short story not so long, I (Dixiesys, aka me) have a new account rep assigned to me at Paypal who I'm to call if I have any problems, etc, big contact list of numbers and emails to reach them by.
How cool is that? Is this something new? Maybe something the new owners (Ebay) are starting?
__________________
Gary Harris - the artist formerly known as Dixiesys
resident grumpy redneck
|

11-03-2002, 03:53 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alabama of course
Posts: 1,365
|
|
Now did you check and recheck to make sure the email actually came from paypal? heh
I'd be a bit worried about someone answering that quickly....
Make sure it is paypal who ur speaking with ^_^
|

11-03-2002, 05:14 AM
|
|
iNET Senior Community Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 31,238
|
|
Like Daniel said; be cautious.
Maybe Damon can clarify.
__________________
Do you have a WHT question or concern? Please open a helpdesk ticket.
|

11-03-2002, 06:19 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 911
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by SoftWareRevue
Like Daniel said; be cautious.
Maybe Damon can clarify.
|
The mighty Damon Billian hangs out on WHT? 
|

11-03-2002, 11:37 PM
|
|
Grumpy Redneck
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The South
Posts: 5,405
|
|
No it's a paypal email address and the headers show it was delivered via Paypal:
Quote:
Received: from smtp-in.nix.paypal.com (smtp-in.nix.paypal.com [65.206.228.72])
by www.dixiesys.com (8.10.2/8.10.2) with ESMTP id g9VJJmQ27811
for <sales@dixiesys.com>; Thu, 31 Oct 2002 13:19:48 -0600
|
72.228.206.65.in-addr.arpa name = smtp-in.nix.paypal.com.
So I reckon it's authentic. Just curious about it.
__________________
Gary Harris - the artist formerly known as Dixiesys
resident grumpy redneck
|

11-04-2002, 12:31 AM
|
|
Invented the Internet
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 9,675
|
|
Red flags. Headers can be forged. Did he ask for any personal info? Bank account info? Soc sec number? Passwords???
We do alot of paypal transactions and I don't have a personal rep. hmmmphh!
--Tina
__________________
||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)
|

11-04-2002, 01:00 AM
|
|
Grumpy Redneck
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The South
Posts: 5,405
|
|
Nope none of that the toll free number and extension given go to "The Paypal Premier Service Line" and his email addie to reply to is @paypal.com as well.
__________________
Gary Harris - the artist formerly known as Dixiesys
resident grumpy redneck
|

11-04-2002, 01:34 AM
|
|
Invented the Internet
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 9,675
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Dixiesys
Nope none of that the toll free number and extension given go to "The Paypal Premier Service Line" and his email addie to reply to is @paypal.com as well.
|
Well, just to be sure its legit...I think you should give us the phone number and email address right away. You don't want to take any chances.
--Tina
__________________
||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)
|

11-04-2002, 03:01 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1,434
|
|
I'm not too sure, but I would check with PayPal. Go to their website and find a phone number.
Although, this might have something to do with the fact that eBay has purchased and officially acquired PayPal...maybe there is change in the works. For awhile, PayPal was under scrutiny for not getting back to troubled customers (mostly from eBay, but still).
Just a thought..
|

11-04-2002, 09:31 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Guru
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 305
|
|
I hope it's legit, but I wonder, too.
Why did they e-mail you instead of calling you? To me, legit phone contact is initiated by phone contact, not an e-mail saying "call me." If they really are PayPal, they have your number.
But, here's hoping.... 
|

11-04-2002, 10:00 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 58
|
|
iBill has created Client Account Managers, too
Hello,
Just want to add that iBill has created a service called Client Account Managers, too. Here is the chronology of recent emails I got from iBill:
27 Sep - Greetings and introduction of "my" Client Account Manager (CAM) by email
30 Sep - 3 Oct - 4 impersonal, spam-like emails from "my" CAM
4 Oct - iBill informs merchants about the new Visa/MC regulations in email
16 Oct - iBill has more details about the regulations
24-29 Oct - I'm trying to reach "my" CAM to have answers to my questions - none of attempts is successful, I'm still do not know if I'm booted by iBill or not.
Ok, the bottom line: I suspect that iBill has created this CAM thing to manage this Visa/MC registration process. Maybe PayPal acts in a similar way?
rdx.
|

11-04-2002, 10:02 AM
|
|
Grumpy Redneck
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The South
Posts: 5,405
|
|
They emailed after TRYING to call me. The email said something like "we tried to reach you by phone" and it had one of those paypal-esque tracking numbers in the header (KMMblah) that you recognize if you've ever had an open support request, or perhaps a returned ACH (aka Customer under investigation so the money they paid you disappears).
__________________
Gary Harris - the artist formerly known as Dixiesys
resident grumpy redneck
|

11-04-2002, 11:29 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 878
|
|
Hi Gary-
Do you do a lot of business via PayPal? I am wondering, at what level do they assign an account rep.
PS I am not asking for any exact amounts.
-Lamar
__________________
Going out of business in our 10th year.
|

11-04-2002, 11:32 AM
|
|
Community Guide
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Tasmania, Australia.
Posts: 3,587
|
|
Revecom does something similar. They called all the way down here at the beginning of the year, just to say "hello". My bet was they were making sure we existed.
Gary
|

11-04-2002, 11:52 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 490
|
|
Dixiesys,
Try and give us the ph. # they gave you to call.
Their real phone number is: 402-935-7733
I have NEVER heard of a 800 number with PayPal, also they don't assign reps from what I know, unless you own half the company.
Thanks!
__________________
David Garza
CCF Web Hosting - Where Customers Come First!
Phone: 1.630.885.9009 | Email: david(a)ccfhosting.com
MSN: dgarza(a)ccfhosting.com | AIM: CCF DGarza | ICQ: 51140109
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|