Do I need a VPS?

Hi guys,

I'm currently on VPS with HostICan (VPS Rage plan). They are a decent host (at least, servers and support are fast), but I have a few concerns about them.

I had been using their Base-Host plan for over 6 months with no issues, when suddenly I started hitting CPU limits out of no reason (I had not made any changes to the site, traffic hadn't increased too). I was offered to move to VPS which is about 7 times more expensive. And I did, as I had no time to look for alternatives at the time.
    My CPU issues were gone, but almost immediately I started hitting memory limits (it turns out they have more generous memory limits on their basic plans!). My site still stops working because of that from time to time, and each time I have to manually restart it. Support wasn't very helpful...

So, obviously, I want to return to those old times when I was paying $6/mo and things were all rosy
    Is it real, if my site's traffic is 200-400 GB/mo? And what would you recommend in such case?

Thanks.

Sounds like overselling and shared CPU which means that if one VPS user uses a LOT of CPU over a short or long term that it is limiting you CPU usage and they are getting away with it. Sounds like that with your Memory issue too, unless you have e.g. 2048 Burstable RAM but only 512mb Guaranteed RAM.

How much memory is allocated to you?

I think its really more of a personal choice between a VPS and a shared hosting environment. Me, personally, I have to have root access. I will never use a shared hosting environment.

So, decide what you are looking for in a host. Once you know what you want, make a decision. Do you need root access?

It's 384mb Guaranteed RAM and 768mb Burstable RAM for my current (VPS) plan.
    So, should I be fine with a shared hosting or is VPS the only way to go with the amount of traffic my website generates (according to cPanel)?