Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    857

    Which is better to use for a home network.

    Netgear
    or
    LinkSys

    Our local Staples doesn't give us a very big choice.
    <?
    header("Location: http://www.hostevolve.com/");
    ?>

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,414
    Netgear Netgear! NETGEAR, my brother, a couple friends have Linksys routers and hubs and they suck =)

    I'm partial to Netgear, for a reason.

    Metal cases, sleek look, and they work exactly how I need them to (Home, Dual DSL Lines) (Office, DSL)
    dotGig
    <:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  3. #3
    NETGEAR Shiny blue boxes rule but seriously nice kit that, i love em and the boxes look cool and a cool box is important.
    --
    Rich

  4. #4
    definetly netgear. tried both netgear, linksys, and a few other major brands out. definetly preferred the look of the netgear, but basically they all do the same thing. Software that is included is also a bonus.
    http://www.STX-Hosting.com
    .:: Professional Web-Hosting ::.
    .:: Top Dedicated Support !!! ::.
    .:: [email protected] ::.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    538
    Im using a linksys but im not very fond of it. It has many problems. Ive never used netgear but i may try it since you guys say its good. I would say to really try and stay away from linksys.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    544
    I use a D-Link wireless router. It was on sale so I decided to try it out. Works great. Not having experience with any others, I don't know how it compares. I like being able to surf the internet on my laptop from anywhere in my house or yard. It's cool.
    Feelings are not tools for rational thought.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    538
    oh yeah wireless is great. I thought about getting it but i sold my laptop and theres no point in having it if im only using a computer that stays in one place. But if i get a laptop ever again ill invest in it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,139
    Netgear all the way

    I have RT311 router, and 2 DS104 hubs and all 3 piceces of equipment fit nicely in a little shelf on my desk. Once I get the funds I'll use switches instead. I'd like to have a managed switch, but I don't have the funds for that kind of stuff.
    Glioblastoma Multiforme (GBM) Brain Cancer Awareness. May is Brain Cancer awareness month. Gray Matters!
    Incurable, 6-18 months prognosis, survivors longer than 3 years less than 1% chance.
    Don't like what I say? Ignore me.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,953
    I'm running two LinkSys routers with no problems for almost a year now. But I have installed & used netgear just fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    857
    Looks like Netgear wins because it looks better...

    Thanks guys.
    <?
    header("Location: http://www.hostevolve.com/");
    ?>

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    348
    Looks aside, I've been very happy with Netgear.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    USA; Midwest
    Posts
    111
    Not linksys. Bad luck. Bad luck. Bad luck.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    857
    LOL why is linksys Bad luck. Bad luck. Bad luck. ?
    <?
    header("Location: http://www.hostevolve.com/");
    ?>

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    USA; Midwest
    Posts
    111
    Install. Uninstall. try again. Uninstall. Install. try again. Switch people. They Install. Uninstall. try again. etc...........Take back. Install. Uninstall. try again. Tech help. (shouldn't need it w/ simple product.) Said to uninstall. Install and try again. Uninstall. Throw in garbage. No more linksys. Happy now.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    857
    LOL I actually used a linksys router/hub until last night. I have had to reboot the thing more times than there are snow flakes on Vail Mountain.
    <?
    header("Location: http://www.hostevolve.com/");
    ?>

  16. #16
    netgear

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    731
    My future network will be soley of Linksys.

    Linksys WAP11 Instant Wireless Network Access Point
    Linksys EZXS88W EtherFast® 8-Port 10/100 Switch

    I can't wait.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Phoenix area
    Posts
    1,121
    lol...I had D-Link at first, but now have Linksys wireless w/ two laptops and a pc base at my house (cable ISP and ethernet connection modem w/ wireless hub). Only thing I've ever had to do was ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew a couple of times, but could be unrelated to the router.

    The blue boxes look nice on my entertainment center in my bedroom .
    Learn survival/prepper information from a combat veteran at Graywolf Survival

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    1,449
    I use Linksys. It's working well. Except for sometimes that the router stops responding, then responds again. It's weird, but for the most part, it's great!
    Kaumil P.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •