* Confused newbie here!

Hi, all--
    This forum was like entering a whole new world when I found it yesterday. It looks like a useful and helpful place. I'm a complete newbie, so this will be a great forum to bookmark.

I've been considering starting a website to sell sports memorabilia, etc., for some time. I figured I would probably use my ISP to host the site. I live in a one-ISP dial-up town (anything else would cost long distance $$). I looked at what my ISP charges for hosting, however, and decided I would look a little deeper to see what's out there. WOW! Lots of great deals, but also a lot of confusion for me.

Here is what my ISP charges:

Virtual Server: $70 setup (includes domain reg. fees), $30/month
    Includes 50 megs of storage space capable of Front Page Extensions, FTP access, daily backups, 24 hour site monitoring, focused submission to major search engines, 6 e-mail aliases

E-Commerce Virtual Server: $450 setup (includes domain reg and first year secure certificate fees), $40/month, $130 annual secure certificate fee. Includes 50 megs of storage space capable of FP Extensions, Commerce Server Shopping Cart System with secure order form, administration page to update products in database, etc.

I guess an e-commerce site would be what I need, but the prices from my ISP seem outrageous. So many places (most, it seems) have no setup fees at all. Also, do I have to have a secure certificate? One hosting service I have been looking closely at offers "SSL Secure Server Space" and from the FAQ it sounds like you are able to share their secure certificate (or buy your own and install it, if you want). I just want to make sure I am understanding this correctly before I commit. If I get a merchant account somewhere (Costco seems to have a good deal through Nova) do I have to buy a secure certificate? Or, if the hosting service allows you to use their secure certificate, would this suffice?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thank you,