* UK Domain + UK Host = Nowhere on Google.com (is there any point?)

This just sucks!

I have been researching SEO for a couple of years now, so based on what I have learnt I decided to do the following to improve our natural search engine positions.

- Use a UK domain, and 301 redirect .com/etc to .co.uk
    - Use a UK host
    - 301 redirect [domain.co.uk] -> [www.domain.co.uk]
    - Set headers, meta tags, and xml tag for content-language: en_GB
    - Set Geo Position and ICBM meta tags
    - Setup sitemap.xml and use Google webmaster tools
    - Redevelop the entire website from scratch.

This worked wonders for the Google.co.uk search results, before we weren't even in the first 200 - the old website only managed to get traffic by spending a **** load of money on Adwords. Now for most of the search terms we check on Google.co.uk we are in the first 10, some are even 3rd or 4th, really happy with that considering the new website has only been live 3 months.

For the same search terms most of our competitors are on the first page of Google.com too, but we aren't even in the top 250! What the ****? These websites are for UK companies offering the same service as us to customers in the UK only. It seems that any competitor with a .co.uk domain doesn't get listed on Google.com, and any with the .com domain are on the first page of Google.com and Google.co.uk. Eh?

The service we are offering is training of OGC frameworks, whilst this is internationally recognised training, the majority of training companies operate in the UK - so it's not as if we have lots of competition from other countries on the Google.com search results.