hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : Game Servers : How many players can I host with these specs?
Reply

Forum Jump

How many players can I host with these specs?

Reply Post New Thread In Game Servers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2009, 02:42 AM
lemeneid lemeneid is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 254

How many players can I host with these specs?


Core2Duo E7200 2.53GHz
4GB Ram
300GB HD
2TB 100mbps(I can get more transfer if necessary)

I'm looking to host Counter Strike Source with zBlock, HLstats and Teamspeak. Oh, and its 66 tick since I'm not scrimming with this server. Its more of a pub server.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-07-2009, 02:50 AM
neXeon neXeon is offline
The Master @ Making Deals!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,041
You don't need an entire box for one game server.

__________________
Charles W. @ Nexeon Technologies, Inc. - The true master at making deals! - c[@]nexeon.com
Dedicated servers, colocation, cloud, game servers, DDOS protection, and more! Managed options available.
ServerDEALS.com - Affordable dedicated server & colocation solutions with quality support.
Up to 256 IP addresses per server! VPS providers, game servers, and more, all OK!

  #3  
Old 04-07-2009, 02:55 AM
lemeneid lemeneid is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 254
I know I don't but I got a server doing very little work so I thought I might give it something to do. I just need to know how large a game I can host without killing it.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 04-08-2009, 05:22 AM
Flumps Flumps is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,207
well those specs will easily run a counter strike server with all those addons and hlstats easy....

it doesnt require much to run CS to be honest, and as somone stated above you dont need a dedicated server.

however having a dedicated server gives you the freedom to run more servers if need be e.g. if your in a clan and want a match server and public server and/or running different games aswell as the cs etc.

does this help? not sure what ur asking from us tbh.

66 tick wouldnt be a problem with those specs at all.

you normally run into issues with gaming servers when ur running a few servers on the one box and there full all the time thats when u get issues.

but seeing as we are talking 1 instance of CS you will be more then fine with those specs. cant guarantee the network mind you as youve not told us where the server is. thats a different kettle of fish all together. "where people connect". but I think ive said enough already.

  #5  
Old 04-08-2009, 06:00 AM
lemeneid lemeneid is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 254
Ok, thats for the replies guys.
Anyway, one last question. I'm pretty concerned about the choke and loss cus I've seen some servers buckle when the night gets busy. Is it due to network or CPU problems or both?

  #6  
Old 04-08-2009, 04:03 PM
Robert vd Boorn Robert vd Boorn is offline
cout << m_subtitle;
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 3,691
It can be a lot of stuff... network, processor load, RAM usage, for some games harddisks maybe even overheat.

  #7  
Old 04-08-2009, 06:00 PM
MarkioE MarkioE is offline
Standard Nerd
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob B View Post
It can be a lot of stuff... network, processor load, RAM usage, for some games harddisks maybe even overheat.
Like Rob said above, it can be a number of issues.

In my experience it's usually hardware not being able to keep up with the tasks required.

  #8  
Old 04-08-2009, 07:25 PM
Stevie21 Stevie21 is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 202
You can probably host around 4-5, maybe even 6 servers depending on how much FPS you set them as (ex: 125 - Base FPS, 250FPS, 500FPS, 1000FPS).

__________________
<<Please review signature formatting guidelines>>

  #9  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:51 PM
lemeneid lemeneid is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky123 View Post
Like Rob said above, it can be a number of issues.

In my experience it's usually hardware not being able to keep up with the tasks required.
So I should be safe with this config then I'm assuming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by powergsp View Post
You can probably host around 4-5, maybe even 6 servers depending on how much FPS you set them as (ex: 125 - Base FPS, 250FPS, 500FPS, 1000FPS).
I'm aiming 36-40 players and 66 tick. This is going to be a pub server. What would be a recommended FPS for this?

  #10  
Old 04-09-2009, 06:54 AM
Stevie21 Stevie21 is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 202
If its a pub server then you could get by with the stock fps (125), in that case, you won't have too much trouble with running 36-40 slots.

__________________
<<Please review signature formatting guidelines>>

  #11  
Old 04-09-2009, 11:21 AM
Creed3020 Creed3020 is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 260
With that setup you will max out the CPU before you max out any of the other components as you have a good allotment of memory, hard drive space, uplink port speed, and bandwidth.

I would say with this setup and running at the tick/FPS you specified you could host around 70 to 100 slots of CSS.

  #12  
Old 04-09-2009, 06:03 PM
Flumps Flumps is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemeneid View Post
Ok, thats for the replies guys.
Anyway, one last question. I'm pretty concerned about the choke and loss cus I've seen some servers buckle when the night gets busy. Is it due to network or CPU problems or both?
choke normally happens because of overloading the server with either other server related stuff or game servers.

loss normally happens due to the above and servers on the same network feed bursting at port speed thus loosing data packets.

aside from the server related issues it could also be rates aswell on the server and on the client machine.

however if running just 1 instance with those specs I cant see you getting choke, however if the network is oversold I can imagine u getting packet loss no matter what spec server you have.

  #13  
Old 04-11-2009, 07:35 AM
tangogc tangogc is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 3
with your spec. you cah host about 70 players and 5, 6 standard game servers

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Cloud Expo New York - June 10-12, 2014 Web Hosting Events 2014-05-15 14:13:57
SoftLayer Powers Global Expansion of DataHotel’s Japanese App Hosting Service Web Hosting News 2014-02-06 11:37:21
Host Alive Listing 2014-09-20 20:48:07
Total Server Solutions Buys Its Second Web Host in Three Months: Hands-On Web Hosting Web Hosting News 2014-01-09 11:29:23
Five Rules for Moving to the Cloud Blog 2013-07-24 09:27:00


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?