* phpBB vs. Invision Board

I will be launching a site soon that will get an over 1000 unique hits a day. I also will be putting a bulletin board on my site as well. I have been using phpBB for the last 2 years and I've kind of became attached to it. But a few people have told me about IB. I have taken a look at it and I must say that it does look impressive. I have searched here about the differences but all I find is people’s opinions. I was hoping for some pros and cons. I'm sorry if this has been asked a hundred time already but for my type of site, witch do you think would be best for me. I'm looking for some non-bias opinions and what your experiences are. Pros and Cons of both would be great.

One thing that kind of draws me to IB is the layout of it and it seems to be more feature rich than phpBB. I don’t have a problem moding the forum, in fact, I do it extensively, but every time there is an upgrade, I have to eventually re-install all the mods because some of the mods don’t work with the updated version and the mod never gets updated.

I haven’t had time to download and see what’s different yet but I was wondering I someone could fill me in on it. How is the community, their mods, do they update their mods, ect. Also, does anyone know witch one uses more bandwidth, maybe some comparing benchmarks.

I know VB might be my best choice but I'm not willing to pay for anything right now.

Thanks for your time…

My 2 cents:

- Invision Board has a more dedicated community filled with ibskins.com, etc.

- PhpBB has a larger user base

- They are both very well written

- IB is a lot more easily customized

- PhpBB is more slowly developing, possibly for the better

- Invision Board isn't totally free-source, it's sorta like XMB (if you don't know what XMB is, you more-a-less have to pay for top notch support, installatation help, pre-release versions, etc.)