* How do I get started?

I am a computer tech at a high school. I have access to get a few servers and am looking to get into web hosting. How would I get started? I am a newbie to this forum but not computers. Any help would be much appreciated.

read as many posts in this forum as you can for about a month. Then ask questions

yep....it takes a lot of planing. i posted something like this in another thread:

1) be prepared to stay up about 4 days straight living on suckers and twinkies

2) be prepared to hear your significant other, next of kin, or any other person living with you complain about how you are never available to talk to.

3) be prepared to lose money the first couple of months

4) have a SOLID business plan. no, this doesn't mean "when i get X customers I'll get another server." think of every possible situation you would face and a solution to go with it.

that's all i can think of right now, i'm sure others will have more

Cool

Invest in some good software to save a lot of time (and money) down the road.

Originally posted by AutomateHost
    Invest in some good software to save a lot of time (and money) down the road.
    very true! i'd recommend using CPanel for the servers and would recommend ModernBill over ANYTHING anyday