Question Changing business status and existing clients???

I wonder, if I start a hosting business as a sole proprietorship and then eventually evolve into an LLC or a corporation, would that nullify the contracts that were established with my clients when I was a sole-proprietor.

For example If i pick up some clients while Im not an LLC and then switch to LLC and at some point at time my original clients would want to sue me. Would I be liable with all my assets or only those of an LLC?

Great question! I don't know, I'm not a lawyer. I went the LLC route, it only cost me about 50 bucks and I'm the sole owner or "single member".

Take care,

Dan.

There are a few different ways to approach that. Probably the one I'd consider is this: form the new entity of whichever form you choose, and then sell the business, including any assets and existing contracts, to that new company.

In practice it's basically what you're planning to do already, but my point is that you should formalize it. Don't just start serving your clients under a different name, but write up an agreement between yourself and your new company specifying what is being transferred -- and then you should notify the clients of the change as well.
    Specializing in SEO and PPC management.

Consult with an attorney specializing in this area of practice. It's not a smart business decision to consider legal advice within a Web hosting forum.

Originally posted by JayC
    There are a few different ways to approach that. Probably the one I'd consider is this: form the new entity of whichever form you choose, and then sell the business, including any assets and existing contracts, to that new company.
    This is doable ... and you can get a smart lawyer to take care of all that once your biz is successful
    Web Hosting Stuff - Over 10,000+ Hosting Companies Listed
    http://www.webhostingstuff.com

localhost has given you sounds advise.