Question Charging for design + maint.

I have a potential client who was asking me about designing his site. Right now he is looking to put a storefront online for his somewhat local business. Starting out with around 30 products or so. He currently has a host and a web guy but he is not pleased with them, which is why he was asking me.

Well, I told him it wouldn't be a problem for the design etc. But he then said he would switch over to my hosting if I maintained his site a bit. Update products and prices, etc. So, that got me thinking because I have never done that before. Usually it is just a one time deal, then that is it.

So to really gain his business I would like to do this, but I'm not fully clear on what I should quote him for doing this. Also, it would be added work on my part as I already run and maintain to sites of my own so I want to make sure I charge enough to make it my worthwhile as well.

Any suggestions are welcomed.

We have a lot of customers we maintain sites for. We usually don't charge them a one time fee. Instead we offer them an all-in-one package with a 2 year contract with only (obviously higher) monthly fees.

make sure you quote him a price, specify how many 15-minute incidents it includes and price for extra 15-minute incidents. thats what i usually do with managed servers and it works rather well - should work as well for you with the updates.

good luck,
    paul
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

Get something in writing. If you agree to update and maintain his site for $50/month (let's say) with no conditions, you're going to be pretty pissed off when he decides to add 50,000 products a month and expects you to change the 1,500 sale products each day :-)
    http://www.schooldebts.com -- Consolidate Student Loan Debt