Post Help!

I am currently a web designer who wants to expand my business offerings and offer web hosting. I cannot afford to purchase and run my own server or have it hosted for me. So, reselling is an option. Could someone please tell me how it works? How do you price it? Is it worth it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am also a designer/developer who expanded my services.

Two types of reseller plan you would be interested in. Very brief description:

Bulk plan - you buy a large set amount of space and divide it up and sell it any way you desire.

50-50 type plan - you purchase a plan at a discounted rate and sell it for whatever amount you want.

If you are just starting out, going with the 50-50 (or whatever percent) type might be better until you get a lot of hosting customers then you can switch to a bulk plan.

Research different reseller host to see what they have to offer.

If you go with a 50-50 type plan you'll have to stick with your host's packages. This is like being affiliate...

On the bulk plan you can set up your own packages and modify them later if necessary. And this is like being a hosting company.

If you just need web space for the ones who you do the design the first one is better I think.
    But if you want to sell hosting indeed, the 2nd option sounds better.
    But remember that you'll have more things to deal on the 2nd like; providing technical support, billing overseas etc...

And to compare prices you can do some research on the hosting sites and see the avarage pricing.

The 50/50 deal is not always that much cheaper if you consider most make you purchase your first plan at full price. A few clients, and you are up to the price of a "bulk plan".