Results 1 to 31 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    955

    latest united colo scam....

    Ok guys.... here is some more fun... those of you that think they have InterNap.... they don't


    3 ash-ix.he.net (206.223.115.37) 1.094 ms 1.433 ms 1.206 ms
    4 pos3-1.gsr12008.pao.he.net (65.19.141.234) 73.023 ms 73.302 ms 73.269 ms
    5 border1-g1-2.pao1.wworks.net (198.32.176.162) 74.009 ms 74.673 ms 74.680 ms
    6 GigE-9.sfo-core1.pnap.net (66.111.47.1) 74.761 ms 74.357 ms 74.025 ms
    7 www.unitedcolo.com (66.111.32.10) 74.474 ms 74.290 ms 74.880 ms


    Look at hop #6.... look at that IP... that is a UCG owned IP... Internap would only do a pnap.net on an IP they owned...

    Also... it doesn't forward resolve....

    I talked to a friend at HE.... WWorks.net or Digital Wire Works... is a He.net customer.... and UCG is a WWorks customer....

    That is sort of shady...make everyone think you are on internap...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    521
    What I found odd is that when the ATT link on their "Internap" connection had a bad gateway router to wworks/internap. Now I contacted them multiple times, and said they could do nothing about it, and they didn't. On the other hand, knowing that Internap can re-route their network at will, the same thing happened with ATT and Hostmania's gateway router a few months ago. I e-mail Hostmania, they call up Internap and it's fixed in about 30 minutes. Now why couldn't United.colo do the same thing?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    955
    considering about 90% of what is said about these guys, I would be worried...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    190
    indeed incoming bw doesnt look like internap anymore however as of right now it still is internap/he.net primary outgoing + whoever is in that dc like yahoo..

    1 66.111.34.1 (66.111.34.1) 1.644 ms 1.131 ms 0.538 ms
    2 66.111.47.2 (66.111.47.2) 1.059 ms 0.809 ms 0.686 ms
    3 bas1-m.pao.yahoo.com (198.32.176.135) 3.033 ms 4.168 ms 3.489 ms
    4 912-snv-io-rtr1.corp.yahoo.com (216.115.100.98) 2.691 ms 2.289 ms 2.613 ms
    ...etc
    C Code. C code run. Run, code, run...
    Segmentation fault (core dumped).. aww sh!t

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    955
    they themselves don't have internap...

    they are a customer of digital wire works... which is a he.net customer... which has lots of connections

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,963
    probably just making ips reverse dns, adn thats it. just foolin' people

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    227
    HAHA

    This just gets more interesting and interesting.
    <<Please RTFM for signature setup>>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    955
    crooks can be funny

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,963
    Well aside from the all the misleading/phony/fake/whatever network info/connectivity, their $49/mo servers are still a good deal

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    955
    yes definatley, especially if they are in a he.net facility... as long as the hardware is halfway decent, and they don't overfill their pipe... its a bargain and a half...

  11. #11
    traceroute to www.unitedcolo.com (66.111.32.10), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
    1 63.239.59.1 (63.239.59.1) 1.377 ms 0.960 ms 0.871 ms
    2 chi-edge-19.inet.qwest.net (63.237.33.33) 10.409 ms 9.640 ms 9.583 ms
    3 chi-core-02.inet.qwest.net (205.171.20.65) 9.869 ms 9.963 ms 9.902 ms
    4 chi-core-01.inet.qwest.net (205.171.20.169) 10.915 ms 27.423 ms 10.829 ms
    5 svl-core-01.inet.qwest.net (205.171.8.50) 57.442 ms 70.334 ms 57.439 ms
    6 svl-edge-09.inet.qwest.net (205.171.14.94) 57.412 ms 58.559 ms 57.445 ms
    7 internap-svl.qwest.net (63.145.224.2) 65.984 ms 63.097 ms 61.518 ms
    8 border6.ge4-1-bbnet2.sfo.pnap.net (63.251.63.75) 61.606 ms 61.827 ms 275.609 ms
    9 digitalwire-3.border6.sfo.pnap.net (63.251.61.230) 63.007 ms 74.787 ms 61.670 ms
    10 GigE-9.sfo-core1.pnap.net (66.111.47.1) 72.512 ms 66.920 ms 79.975 ms
    11 www.unitedcolo.com (66.111.32.10) 65.625 ms 66.752 ms 68.087 ms

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    227
    [[email protected] root]# nslookup 66.111.43.1
    Note: nslookup is deprecated and may be removed from future releases.
    Consider using the `dig' or `host' programs instead. Run nslookup with
    the `-sil[ent]' option to prevent this message from appearing.
    Server: 127.0.0.1
    Address: 127.0.0.1#53

    ** server can't find 1.43.111.66.in-addr.arpa: NXDOMAIN

    [[email protected] root]#

    That was quick. Doesn't reverse to GigE-9.sfo-core1.pnap.net no more.

    Edit:

    It does now. Someones is having fun.
    <<Please RTFM for signature setup>>

  13. #13
    it helps when you lookup the right ip.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    227
    Originally posted by dk2
    it helps when you lookup the right ip.
    Yes its the IP as posted above.

    Edit:

    No. My bad!
    <<Please RTFM for signature setup>>

  15. #15
    Has anyone called them on this yet?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    3,635
    C:\>ping GigE-9.sfo-core1.pnap.net

    Unknown host GigE-9.sfo-core1.pnap.net.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,963
    ouch

    now that's misleading@

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    190
    not really ive noticed lots of routers that dont forward dns
    C Code. C code run. Run, code, run...
    Segmentation fault (core dumped).. aww sh!t

  19. #19
    did you lookup the ip? The ip is owned by UnitedColo, dead giveaway. The other one is if something goes through wworks it isn't gonna switch to pnap then go to unitedcolo.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    3,635
    But what about this trace from Ross (in a previous post)?
    6 svl-edge-09.inet.qwest.net (205.171.14.94) 57.412 ms 58.559 ms 57.445 ms
    7 internap-svl.qwest.net (63.145.224.2) 65.984 ms 63.097 ms 61.518 ms
    8 border6.ge4-1-bbnet2.sfo.pnap.net (63.251.63.75) 61.606 ms 61.827 ms 275.609 ms
    9 digitalwire-3.border6.sfo.pnap.net (63.251.61.230) 63.007 ms 74.787 ms 61.670 ms
    10 GigE-9.sfo-core1.pnap.net (66.111.47.1) 72.512 ms 66.920 ms 79.975 ms
    11 www.unitedcolo.com (66.111.32.10) 65.625 ms 66.752 ms 68.087 ms
    It looks like they have some Internap bandwidth after all, but the GigE-9 is fake...

    - Matt

  21. #21
    They do have an Internap pipe but as you can (hopefully) imagine when looking at their prices it isn't uhm heavily used

    They aren't in a he.net facility but in one of the best carrier neutral facilities in the US.

    10 GigE-9.sfo-core1.pnap.net (66.111.47.1) 72.512 ms 66.920 ms 79.975 ms

    This rDNS entry is definitely misleading and I don't think Internap would be very happy about this when finding out about it.

    They are now primarily using a he.net pipe which is pretty good quality.
    321Host-It Internet Services
    http://www.321host-it.com
    ICQ: 17021242 E-mail: [email protected]

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    452

    Internap or not Internap!

    Can I ask, does RackShack uses Internap ? Does FastServers also use Internap ?

    I'm really not getting this "internap thing" enlight me on it, seriously, is their price TOO HIGH for this kind of connection ??

    Or is it that you are trying to make something out of nothing?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    190

    Re: Internap or not Internap!

    Originally posted by tamouh
    Can I ask, does RackShack uses Internap ? Does FastServers also use Internap ?

    I'm really not getting this "internap thing" enlight me on it, seriously, is their price TOO HIGH for this kind of connection ??

    Or is it that you are trying to make something out of nothing?
    What are you talking about you have no clue what we are talking about thats for sure.
    C Code. C code run. Run, code, run...
    Segmentation fault (core dumped).. aww sh!t

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,729

    Re: Internap or not Internap!

    Originally posted by tamouh
    Can I ask, does RackShack uses Internap ? Does FastServers also use Internap ?

    I'm really not getting this "internap thing" enlight me on it, seriously, is their price TOO HIGH for this kind of connection ??

    Or is it that you are trying to make something out of nothing?
    Internap is a 'brand' of bandwidth. Like Coke is a brand of soda.

    Rackshack does not use Internap. They use various carriers including Williams Communications, Cogent, and Savvis.

    FastServers uses Hurricane Electric (HE.NET) bandwidth for their offerings.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,962
    Originally posted by clocker1996
    probably just making ips reverse dns, adn thats it. just foolin' people
    Hand the man a cigar

    Code:
    Trace www.unitedcolo.com (66.111.32.10) ...
     3 208.172.78.49   170ms  170ms  160ms  TTL:  0  (bar3-serial6-0-0-15.Atlanta.cw.net ok)
     4 208.172.66.101  201ms  190ms  170ms  TTL:  0  (agr1-loopback.Atlanta.cw.net ok)
     5 208.172.75.177  230ms  160ms  201ms  TTL:  0  (dcr2-so-6-0-0.Atlanta.cw.net ok)
     6 208.172.75.138    *    170ms  181ms  TTL:  0  (agr3-so-6-0-0.Atlanta.cw.net ok)
     7 208.172.130.62  220ms  180ms  190ms  TTL:  0  (acr2-loopback.Dallas.cw.net ok)
     8 208.172.129.226 180ms  180ms  230ms  TTL:  0  (williams-communications-inc.Dallas.cw.net ok)
     9 64.200.240.6    300ms  271ms  251ms  TTL:  0  (anhmca1wcx2-oc48.wcg.net fraudulent rDNS)
    10 64.200.143.74   291ms  270ms  251ms  TTL:  0  (anhmca1wcx3-oc48.wcg.net fraudulent rDNS)
    11 64.200.240.2    250ms  260ms  251ms  TTL:  0  (snfcca1wcx2-oc48.wcg.net fraudulent rDNS)
    12 64.200.199.78   270ms  260ms  290ms  TTL:  0  (snfcca1wcx3-oc48.wcg.net bogus rDNS: host not found [authoritative])
    13 64.200.210.178  791ms  230ms  230ms  TTL:  0  (sntcca2lce1-oc48.wcg.net bogus rDNS: host not found [authoritative])
    14 64.71.128.117   531ms  230ms  220ms  TTL:  0  (gige-g2-0.gsr12008.pao.he.net ok)
    15 198.32.176.162  291ms  231ms  240ms  TTL:  0  (border1-g1-2.pao1.wworks.net bogus rDNS: host not found [authoritative])
    16 66.111.47.1     260ms    *    221ms  TTL:  0  (GigE-9.sfo-core1.pnap.net bogus rDNS: host not found [authoritative])
    17   No Response      *      *      *                 
    18   No Response      *      *      *                 
    19   No Response      *      *      *

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,033
    ouchies...

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    2,508
    OrgName: United Colocation Group, Inc.
    OrgID: UCG-14

    NetRange: 66.111.32.0 - 66.111.47.255
    CIDR: 66.111.32.0/20
    NetName: ASN-UNCGI-EXC-01
    NetHandle: NET-66-111-32-0-1
    Parent: NET-66-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: ns1.unitedcolo.net
    NameServer: ns2.unitedcolo.net
    Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
    RegDate: 2002-08-06
    Updated: 2002-09-23

    TechHandle: RL961-ARIN
    TechName: Leung, Ryan
    TechPhone: +1-415-731-1111
    TechEmail: [email protected]

    OrgTechHandle: RL961-ARIN
    OrgTechName: Leung, Ryan
    OrgTechPhone: +1-415-731-1111
    OrgTechEmail: [email protected]
    Mike @ Xiolink.com
    http://www.xiolink.com 1-877-4-XIOLINK
    Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
    "Your data... always within reach"

  28. #28
    C:\>ping digitalwire-3.border6.sfo.pnap.net
    Unknown host digitalwire-3.border6.sfo.pnap.net.

    See, unknown host means nothing. This is an Internap router and it doesn't forward DNS.

    So, just because GigE doesn't forward DNS doesn't mean that it's a fake hostname or they're lying.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    955
    Originally posted by heath
    C:\>ping digitalwire-3.border6.sfo.pnap.net
    Unknown host digitalwire-3.border6.sfo.pnap.net.

    See, unknown host means nothing. This is an Internap router and it doesn't forward DNS.

    So, just because GigE doesn't forward DNS doesn't mean that it's a fake hostname or they're lying.
    No but a pnap.net reverse on an IP owned by UCG is not good

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    521
    I don't see why pnap would go to wworks then go back to pnap again.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    955
    Originally posted by mushrew
    I don't see why pnap would go to wworks then go back to pnap again.
    it wouldn't

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •