complete newbie question

im going to be getting a domain name and a host to go along with it. i just have a few questions regarding the right process in going about it. id just like some feedback whether or not i am understanding what to do.

1) register a domain name (with godaddy.com or some other)
    2) find a host (myriad of them out there)
    --this is where my lack of experience comes in--
    3) do i configure the domain name (i.e. godaddy.com) to link to the nameserver of the host?

how do i make these two work in conjuction, and what is "transferring" domain names. can i find a host, then register a domain name? what are the requirements of a host to allow it to work with a domain name.

sorry for my complete ignorance.

You are completely on the right track!

A host that has a minimum of 10MB of space, 1 Email Account, and 500MB of bandwidth should work out great for a personal site and single domain name.

Good luck. If you have any questions, let me know. I know of some good sites with reviews, etc..

What you want to do is go register your domain name, I suggest GoDaddy as they have a nice control panel setup. Then go find the host you want to use, When you sign up you will get a welcome email from them which usually has there nameserver info. Then you go back to GoDaddy and "Select Nameservers" from your control panel. It is typically ns1.hostname.com and ns2.hostname.com. Then after about 24-48 hours your domain name will "settle" across the internet and you will be able to view your site via www.yourdomain.com and upload your file etc and from there you should be all set. Hope this helps.

No need to appologise...

That's what this community is here for.

If you are going to register a domain or choose a host you can do it in either order.

I would suggest you find your host first. That way you know where your domian name is going to be pointing. (Or where you "need to transfer it to.")