hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Domain Names : Changing DNS With GoDaddy
Reply

Forum Jump

Changing DNS With GoDaddy

Reply Post New Thread In Domain Names Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:00 AM
Benfhw Benfhw is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13

Changing DNS With GoDaddy


Hey.

I am now on a dedicated ip with a new host and am trying to transfer. The nameservers given to me are something like:

ns1.hostingcompany.com 66.xxx.xxx.xxx
ns2.hostingcompany.com 66.xxx.xxx.xxx

However, GoDaddy will not let me enter that, it only takes the host name.

Does this mean that when DNS refreshes, my site will redirect to the hosting company instead of my website?

Someone please help this newbie out!



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:02 AM
Samuel Samuel is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 3,414
Call them

__________________
dotGig
<:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  #3  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:03 AM
Benfhw Benfhw is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
Hmm, any one else know what to do without wasting money on long distance?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:06 AM
Samuel Samuel is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 3,414
Ahh, so calling them you think won't work? It's what I did.

__________________
dotGig
<:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  #5  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:07 AM
Benfhw Benfhw is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
But I'm asking is there even a problem at all? Do I need to do anying?

And if I do, I'd like to know if there's an EASIER alternative than calling, such as typing something in lol.

  #6  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:09 AM
Samuel Samuel is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 3,414
You need to register your name servers with your registrar, update them also if needed.

Two things, update the domain's DNS, register the name servers as a host.

__________________
dotGig
<:<: [Fruit eating linux administrator]

  #7  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:13 AM
Benfhw Benfhw is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
I ALREADY UPDATED IT, though.

I'm asking if I need to, and if so how, do I get the IP ADDRESS listed w/ the nameservers.

  #8  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:13 AM
Mahmoud Mahmoud is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Egypt
Posts: 73
If they are your own nameservers:
give by your company so you can using ns1.yoursite.com ns2.yoursite.com you will have to register them)

If they are the hosting nameservers (ns1/ns2.thehostingcompany.com)so you will just have to update your site nameservers you can use only the host (which is even better so the ips are later changed)

  #9  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:14 AM
Benfhw Benfhw is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
okay, i have a dedicated ip address for my site w/ my host. My host gave me nameservers. I am asking if i need to INCLUDE the ded. ip anywhere with the nameservers that i change at my registrar - OR - do I need to simply enter the addresses for the dns.

  #10  
Old 10-18-2002, 11:17 AM
SoftWareRevue SoftWareRevue is offline
iNET Senior Community Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 32,252
No. Simply enter your hosts' nameservers. Your IP is just so you can access your site via it.

__________________
There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  #11  
Old 10-18-2002, 04:39 PM
bok bok is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 228
Benfhw-

The name servers that were given to you will resolve themselves to the IP address. Don't worry about the Ip's, let your hosting company make sure they're resolving correctly!

But....if you input these servers and it states you need to register them, you'll need to do so with the IP address within the Domain Host Information section along with putting just the name's within the Name Server Information section of your account.


Last edited by bok; 10-18-2002 at 04:47 PM.
  #12  
Old 10-18-2002, 06:46 PM
WildCard WildCard is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 541
Thumbs up

Cool, godaddy comments here!

Another reason to love godaddy!

-WC-

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
GoDaddy Listing 2014-04-17 08:30:24
GoDaddy Listing 2014-04-17 08:30:24
GoDaddy Listing 2014-04-17 08:30:25
GoDaddy Listing 2014-04-17 08:30:26
GoDaddy Listing 2014-04-17 08:30:23


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?