php/mysql programmer needed

I am tossing this one out there to see what kind of ideas people have on how best this could be accomplished, and I intend to hire someone to work on this shortly. Otherwise, given the suggestions I may take this to Elance.

I run a gameserver hosting company, and have been designing a client control center in my mind for quite some time. I will say right away I am no programmer.

I do not want to share too many details here, but here is what I have in mind:

-Customer places an order on our site
    -That order is stored in a DB (mysql) and emailed to me for backup.
    -Depending on what merchant service we go with, the order will either be processed by them or by us, encrypted via SSL and encrypted in the database.
    -Along with that is an SSL-encrypted admin interface INTO the database where I can view orders, edit them, etc.. A simple editor, not anything like phpmyadmin.

Now for the kicker (Yeah that was easy):

I want automated setup on my servers. I want my servers to check the order database every hour, and if they have space grab an order and set it up. I am thinking of using perl/php binary on the server machines to connect to the database over SSL or SSH and grab the order info. With that info, servers will be setup in their proper DIRS, and certain configs will be edited accordingly. Simple bash programming for most of it.

So, my questions/needs:
    1) Does this sound like a viable method for doing this? More importantly, do you have a better idea? Please PM me on this.
    2) I had a developer start work on this, and then he decided that he wanted a contract stating he owns the code and I am licensing it. NOPE. I need to own this code, and it must not be distributed in its final form as I use it. I only intend to pay for it once. Thoughts?
    3) No proprietary software needed to use this (with the exception of the SSL cert if we go that route). I run linux for a reason!