San Diego

Question New Reseller Questions

I have a few questions and quite frankly I am getting very confused the more I search. I am a Systems Administrator, since many people have asked me to do work for them I decided I wanted to start my own side company. I am trying to do this. One of the most recent request I am getting is for web site design. I figured why not try reselling web hosting services to them as well, since most of the sites (about 6 now) are maintained by me. I have been searching these Forums and seem to get a broad range of answers, so I thought I would just ask my questions myself.

1) What does it take to resell? Is there any special licenses I need? Or do I just do this as an individual and report the income as a hobby?

2) I can not seem to find a hosting service that is liked globally. There seem to be a lot out there. I would like to find one that has the best value, quality, and ease of managing of course. Here are a list of ones I have reviewed.

A) PixleSeven - Seems there is some anger against them at the moment, on a previous post.
    B) Glypto -
    C) -
    D) -

and as pointed out there seems to be a lot of "narrowed down to these last 4" posts but none are the same. Can anybody really help in this area?

I believe taking care of my customers is the number one way to keep them and get new ones, everything I have done till now has been word of mouth advertising. So I need to make sure that I am not going to be screwed over by a hosting company.

3) What are some things I should be thinking about before I commit to doing this? I have the enthusiasm and initiative, capital is not very large at the moment, and that is why I want to make sure I get this right the first time.