Results 1 to 36 of 36
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,247

    hows http://www.*******.com CP

    Any idea about http://www.*******.com control panel. Please post your views.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,700
    I don't think its that good.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,247
    I visited your site... it looks great. When are you coming up with CP.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    524
    Would you mind PMing me the name of it anyway? (just curious)

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,247
    http://128.241.21.22/
    but why site names are blocked by WHT....
    Moderators

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    That control panel is quite good, but may not have all features you will need, especially a build-in sql interface that will let you create a db in an instance. I think this is its biggest lack. The look and feel of the CP is quite good.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    202
    Starts at $3000 though..
    Jimmy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,962
    Originally posted by jolly
    http://128.241.21.22/
    but why site names are blocked by WHT....
    Moderators
    Umm... I kinda doubt you know the full story... So why flame the mods????


    Generally if a url gets banned from the forum, its because they did something wrong here.. More than likely spamming...

    Before posting like you just did.. How about you contact the mods and ask why it was banned???????

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    2,564
    that panel is $3000??!?!?! who are they kidding?
    -Robert Norton
    www.SophMedia.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    it's more than a control panel. It's a VPS solution (like Ensim ServerXchange). However, the $3000 will give you the VPS engine with no end-user control panel.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    77
    Hi there.

    Originally posted by FHDave
    it's more than a control panel. It's a VPS solution (like Ensim ServerXchange). However, the $3000 will give you the VPS engine with no end-user control panel.
    I'm looking for VPS software for my new web hosting project. Now I'm testing H-Sphere demo.
    But this solution seems to be more useful. I have sent a demo request to this guys.
    Do you use this software?
    Any advantages/disadvantages?
    WG

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    In My Own World
    Posts
    972
    I am having it installed on 3 Weberz servers this week.

    This is a very very nice system. Expensive yes. Nice though.

    I have H-Sphere installed on Weberz.com servers now and will stop taking signups on it as soon as *** Complete gets installed and I get the plans configured.

    Tracy Phillips

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    9
    i called SPHERA (http://www.sphera.com)
    there solution is $2250 per Web Server (though you can have Email, SQL on seprate machines) but for every Web Server you need to buy for $2250
    This is there Shared Hosting Automation product...
    and intresting thing is To control Windows Web Hosting Environment you need a SEPRATE LINUX box in back which runs there engine..intresting setup but who likes to to Add another server to control 1

  14. #14

    $200 for the control panels

    and then $3000 for a VPS system on 3 servers (we also trying to push me on dell hw, but that was way expensive)
    from these folks (the salesman - who was a little more than pushy), told me about this and we're going to give it a whirl.

    asked somewhere else about *** complete and have not been responded to - glad to hear it's a good/worth a try and that i'm not being dumb.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    196
    *********** and NeoPanel Cant be compared they are WAY to different, NeoPanel is better if you have a server to control, *********** is if you have a center full of servers you need to manage.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    196
    *********** is H S P C o m p l e t e from S W S o f t

  17. #17
    you're right - we looked at Neopanel, but have too many servers to manage. hell, we even looked at buliding something in-hose, but it didn't seem technically/$$ feasible.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    Originally posted by goodW
    But this solution seems to be more useful. I have sent a demo request to this guys.
    Do you use this software?
    Any advantages/disadvantages?
    Yes, we do use HSphere, but HSphere is not a VPS solution, it's a solution for shared hosting environment. In a VPS, each account will have their own resources (CPU/Memory/Disk) allocation. Each VPS behaves just like its own physical server; each enjoys the total isolation from other VPS. Unlike traditional shared hosting, a run-away script of one particular account can crash the whole server and other people on that server will be affected. In VPS, since each VPS is sand-boxed from other VPSes, there will be no one particular account monopolizing the server resources at the expense of other accounts. Security is another added beneftis of a VPS.

    So I can't really make an apple to apple comparison between HSphere and *** Complete. It all depends on your needs.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    In My Own World
    Posts
    972
    Originally posted by FHDave


    Yes, we do use HSphere, but HSphere is not a VPS solution, it's a solution for shared hosting environment. In a VPS, each account will have their own resources (CPU/Memory/Disk) allocation. Each VPS behaves just like its own physical server; each enjoys the total isolation from other VPS. Unlike traditional shared hosting, a run-away script of one particular account can crash the whole server and other people on that server will be affected. In VPS, since each VPS is sand-boxed from other VPSes, there will be no one particular account monopolizing the server resources at the expense of other accounts. Security is another added beneftis of a VPS.

    So I can't really make an apple to apple comparison between HSphere and *** Complete. It all depends on your needs.
    Very Very well said.

    Tracy Phillips

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    To add to this, you could technically run HSPHERE within a cluster of Virtuozzo VPS', with the only exception being that disk quotas do not work within the VPS.
    <!-- boo! -->

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    In My Own World
    Posts
    972
    Originally posted by DizixCom
    To add to this, you could technically run HSPHERE within a cluster of Virtuozzo VPS', with the only exception being that disk quotas do not work within the VPS.
    Scott,

    Correct me if I am wrong. You did mention to me I believe that the next version of Virtuozzo will have the ability to have disk qoutas inside the VPS, correct?

    Tracy Phillips

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    Yes, that is what they told me. We'll see when it is released though, as that is what really matters.
    <!-- boo! -->

  23. #23
    I've been wondering about this as well since we are looking into using ****/virtuozzo and placing h sphere on it. Psoft tells me it doesn't work while sw tells me it does. Anyone shed any light on this?
    Matt Kelly
    WCiT.net
    Managed and Unmanaged
    Budget VPS, Cloud and Colocation

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    I haven't tried it yet, so don't take my word on it. Technically I see absolutely no reason for it not to work with the exception of the disk quotas.

    I cannot come up with one reason that HSPHERE will not run within a VPS. There will have to be some changes to the ip-loader, basically to change the device name that ifconfig uses but that is true for FreeBSD servers as well so isn't really a valid concern. Did PSoft give you any reasons as to why it wouldn't work or was it just one of their typical responses that explain nothing?
    <!-- boo! -->

  25. #25
    They briefly said something said something about how the libraries worked on virtuozzo. Apparently that is the problem.

    If the disk quota doesn't work then h sphere's billing system would be useless. Trust me I know what happens when the quotas fail.
    Matt Kelly
    WCiT.net
    Managed and Unmanaged
    Budget VPS, Cloud and Colocation

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    I think the disk quotas issue limits you to keeping your web servers outside of the Virtuozzo VE's for now, but the other services (mail, cp, mysql, pgsql, etc) could most likely be run within Virtuozzo VE's. Again, I don't see anything technically wrong with this but I have not tried it so it's all theory at this point. I'd need more than some obscure description of libraries being different to be convinced though since you can install any libraries you want within the VE.

    I guess the only way to find out is to try it.
    <!-- boo! -->

  27. #27
    Thats interesting. So you are proposing using the VE's for all services including web except place the control panels on their own dedicated server. I wonder if you could place the control panels on just one large dedicated VE?
    Matt Kelly
    WCiT.net
    Managed and Unmanaged
    Budget VPS, Cloud and Colocation

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    Actually, I'm thinking to put everything with a VE eventually. Right now the only HSPHERE service that requires disk quotas is the web service, so until Virtuozzo supports quotas within VE's, the web server cannot run correctly within a VE.

    Let's recap an HSPHERE installation real quick, and I'll tag each one with where it would go:

    - CP --> VE #1
    - HSPHERE PGSQL --> VE #2
    - MAIL --> VE #3
    - PGSQL --> VE #4
    - MySQL --> VE #5
    - WEB SERVER 1 --> Non VE server
    - WEB SERVER 2 --> Non VE server

    There you go. Three servers can encompass your entire HSPHERE implementation comfortably. When you need more power, you add a server and separate the services as needed.

    I'm not sure there is a techical advantage of putting the web servers in VE's anyway, so there may not be much point in ever doing this. On the other hand, moving VE's around is so easy that it may be a benefit to be able to upgrade the web servers with near complete transparency to your customers.

    It's interesting, the benefit of using VPS's for your own services becomes more and more apparent when you start thinking of how easily manageable the VE's are.
    <!-- boo! -->

  29. #29
    i was hoping to be able to put the whole install under one VE that way each reseller could be isolated but I guess that won't happen. I'll try and get some more info from psoft about what the problems are.
    Matt Kelly
    WCiT.net
    Managed and Unmanaged
    Budget VPS, Cloud and Colocation

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    You could do that as well, but I'd suggest creating two VE's if you did that.

    1st for CP, Mail, HSPHERE PGSQL, and NS1
    2nd for Web sites, PGSQL, MySQL, and NS2
    <!-- boo! -->

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    In My Own World
    Posts
    972
    Originally posted by Everyday

    If the disk quota doesn't work then h sphere's billing system would be useless.
    LOL.

    Not much would be different than the situation that we have now (with resellers anyway).

    Tracy Phillips

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,700
    Actually, (just to clear up some things)

    NeoPanel will be able to server cluster and have specific services per server. It will be able to manage an entire datacenter without a problem. If you have any more questions please visit the NeoPanel forums. An official release date for neopanel has not been set however we are looking at 8 weeks to final release and 4 weeks till a nice demo will be up and ready .

    Thank You

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    A bit of good news...

    The next release of Virtuozzo does support disk quotas within VE's, and HSPHERE runs just fine -- I'm testing it right now, and so far there are no problems at all other than the fact that HSPHERE is quite the memory hog.

    The technology is definitely viable for offering such installations, and the manageability of these VE's makes them very attractive. I mean think of the possibilities:

    - Adding a new server to the cluster, but waiting for delivery. Create a VE, install the HSPHERE software in the VE and when the new server shows up just, point click shoot and bam it's up and running on the new server almost seemlessly.

    Pretty exciting stuff.
    <!-- boo! -->

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    Success. It works flawlessly. HSPHERE can indeed run in Virtuozzo VE's without any trouble. This opens a whole new arena.

    I see no reason other CP's such as CPanel can't be run within these as well. Very cool.
    <!-- boo! -->

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    In My Own World
    Posts
    972
    What is the resource usage?

    Tracy Phillips

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    At one point during the installation, well over 256MB of RAM were consumed. I was able to run the CP with less than 256MB of RAM usage once installed, but with any actual traffic that amount would most definitely rise well above. Java isn't the most efficient in terms of memory usage, in many cases all memory is allocated twice.

    Beyond that I have no metrics yet.
    <!-- boo! -->

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •