hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : (Hard Reboot ) on remote control,
Reply

Forum Jump

(Hard Reboot ) on remote control,

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2002, 02:46 PM
babak babak is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 162

(Hard Reboot ) on remote control,


Hii


I am not sure of I am right, but this is wat I want to do:

I need to put a server to gether and I dont know what type of motherboard I need

I want use a APC-power-master-switch to turn my server on/off (Hard Reboot ) on remote control, so do I need a special motherboard? is it wake on line or is it somthing else? Is it UPS ?

If you dont understand me please klik here

http://apc.com/resource/include/tech...erisks#anchor1


I am sure its not wake on line but what is it? cobalt raqs have also such an support and many other servers too.

TNX.
Regards,
babak


Last edited by babak; 10-12-2002 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-2002, 03:23 PM
CipherVendor CipherVendor is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 243
Your post comes across as you are going to be using the APC remote reboot unit to bring your machine up and down when you need it.

Any motherboard will work fine, it's BIOS just needs to support the feature which enables it to power back up after power loss.

Alternatively if you want to limit access to your machine at specific times of the day, you can just enable & disable to port your machine is connected to.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2002, 03:27 PM
babak babak is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 162
tnx so much voor your replay.

What is power "back up after power loss" called in bios? is there a special name there for?

TNX again,
Regards,
Babak

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-12-2002, 03:29 PM
CipherVendor CipherVendor is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 243
Check under the power management section in your BIOS. There should be a setting that let's the machine know what to do after a power loss.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2002, 04:22 PM
babak babak is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 162
thaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaank YOU!!!!!!

It works now.

You was a real help.:

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
EarthLink Acquires Managed Services Provider CenterBeam for $22 Million Web Hosting News 2013-06-17 14:30:10
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – April 5, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:12
Internap Survey Finds Organizations Want Cloud-like Control in Colo Environments Web Hosting News 2013-02-14 09:34:25
VPS Hosting Company SupremeServers Expands Service with Dallas POP Web Hosting News 2012-10-04 14:07:34
GlobalSign OneClickSSL Plug-in Available with DirectAdmin Web Hosting Control Panel Web Hosting News 2012-08-02 14:21:17


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?