stupid question...

hi, i'm one of the legions who were signed up with cyberwings before it tanked (don't hurt me), and i was wondering-- i signed up with them for my domain name as well as my space, so does that mean my domain name is still viable or did it crash into the ground along with my web hosting? i know i didn't pay a lot so it's not like i'm really upset but if i still have my domain name, i could restart my site with another server. and if so, can someone give me a few reliable and (relatively) inexpensive hosting services? i know i can't get a bargain or anything but i'm a poor college student and i figure someone must have a plan i can use...

thanks for your help!
    -meg

Hi Meg,

Cyberwings wasn't a real domain registrar. They were just reselling services for wildwestdomains.com.

If you go to their page and try to login to your domain account from there I am pretty sure it will work out.

Check WHOIS on your domain name. If you are listed as bill and admin contact, you can modify name servers on the domain.

However, if CW is listed as bill and admin contact, you will have to contact them and request to transfer the ownership of the domain to you.

And I am sure the others will recommend you the hosts.
    I choose not to use my signature for advertising.

It doesn't matter how much you claim how important your data is. If it's not backed up, it's not important.

thanks for the really quick replies; i'm going to go check that out.
    -meg

okay, i just went to go check up on the whois information, and i'm listed as the registrant and it says it was registered through "Domains Priced Right" but nothing about billing or admin information.

sorry, i'm just sort of stuck here.
    -meg

What's your domain that needs to be looked at?
    I choose not to use my signature for advertising.

It doesn't matter how much you claim how important your data is. If it's not backed up, it's not important.

domainspricedright.com = wildwestdomains.com