Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Schwerin Germany
    Posts
    71

    Thumbs down

    Just had my first experience with Tera-byte (or bites). I must say it wasn't pleasant.

    I have a dedicated on thier internal and something on thier network has gone down. It's been over an hour and NONE of my sites or clients sites are visible. After trace routing from here (in Germany) and yahoo.com we found the following.

    all is good to just about here:

    TraceRoute - Friday, April 06, 2001 22:05:37
    Generated by CyberKit Version 2.5
    Copyright 1996-2000 by Luc Neijens

    Address: http://www.acnshosting.com
    Number of Packets: 1
    Packet size: 64
    Trace Hop 1 through 35
    Timeout: 5
    Resolve Addresses: Yes
    Don't Fragment: No
    <1 to 13 is ok>
    #14 core1-s5-1.edm.tera-byte.com (207.107.204.162): TTL Exceeded, ttl=242, 200 ms
    #15 cat6006-vlan11.edm.tera-byte.com (216.234.160.30): TTL Exceeded, ttl=241, 220 ms
    #16 fw-4ws-fxp0.edm.tera-byte.com (216.234.160.54): TTL Exceeded, ttl=240, 210 ms
    #17 No response (): , ttl=, ms
    #18 No response (): , ttl=, ms
    #19 No response (): , ttl=, ms
    #20 No response (): , ttl=, ms
    <on to 30>
    Statistics: Out 29, in 15, loss 48%, times (min/avg/max) 60/133/220 ms

    So I called them to let them know that they had something down. No big deal right? WRONG. They didn't give a S**T what was wrong. They didn't care that thier network was messed up.

    This was after an hour of down time and now it is 15 min. after I talked to them. and it's still down. unbelievable.

    Guess I'll be looking for another company to host my dedicated server.

    Chuck

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Schwerin Germany
    Posts
    71
    Over 2 hours now and still down. unbelievable.

    Should I fly over and fix it for 'em?

    hehe

    chuck

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    273
    To quote myself form 2 days ago when they were down: I'm not surprised. I've never seen a host with more downtime. That's part of the reason I left. But if you wait a few minutes we'll get the ole' "The sprint backbone is down, it's not our fault" routine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,898
    Still 2 hours is little compared to the VDI's downtime, 10 hours.
    I choose not to use my signature for advertising.

    It doesn't matter how much you claim how important your data is. If it's not backed up, it's not important.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Schwerin Germany
    Posts
    71
    they can't do that. from the traceroute info I have they ain't even on sprint.

    unless sprint has insinc.net servers. that's what the IP resovles to before the tera-byte servers.

    also, I'm about 2 or 3 hops off my server in their network before it dies. That's posted above.

    chuck

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    279
    Originally posted by Slydder
    unless sprint has insinc.net servers.
    Yup... http://www.networksolutions.com/cgi-...ois?insinc.net

  7. #7
    Looks like a screwed up router or something. When I traceroute it from my 4webspace host it goes

    1. 192.168.7.1

    and then all * * *

    I don't know why it would ever leave their internal network but I'd guess it would just end up looping back.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Schwerin Germany
    Posts
    71
    I don't get it either. It's now over 3 hours since initial line lose and they have started the good server 4 or 5 times (the server before the break). I'm not following the logic here. hehe. well, who knows.

    What's really sad is that I sent them a copy of the traceroute.

    Chuck

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    12,121
    Originally posted by Slydder So I called them to let them know that they had something down. No big deal right? WRONG. They didn't give a S**T what was wrong. They didn't care that thier network was messed up.[/B]
    Chuck, just so you know, I have a sever there and a trace to my server stops after the very last line that resolved above (meaning, that's the last hop to the server itself).

    Mine:
    20 cat6006-vlan10.edm.tera-byte.com (216.234.160.26) 97.583 ms 103.816 ms 103.057 ms
    21 fw-colo-fxp0.edm.tera-byte.com (216.234.160.58) 100.316 ms 99.206 ms 97.822 ms
    22 216.234.160.225 (216.234.160.225) 98.977 ms 99.029 ms 102.703 ms

    I believe (but am not certain) that your server is down. Nothing more. The server may be having problems, or for all I know there is a problem with your billing and they pulled it (I'm not going to guess as to why it is down).

    Originally posted by syanet
    To quote myself form 2 days ago when they were down: I'm not surprised. I've never seen a host with more downtime. That's part of the reason I left. But if you wait a few minutes we'll get the ole' "The sprint backbone is down, it's not our fault" routine.
    As I said above, the network isn't down. Now, I'm willing to complain when someone screws up, but the last two times you've posted about this, once was a problem down the line somewhere (they weren't down 2 days ago), and this time it is with this person's server. At least be accurate.
    HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

    Chicken

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Schwerin Germany
    Posts
    71
    My server has been checked. There is nothing wrong with it. As a matter of fact they have pulled my server and put another know good one in it place and it still ain't working.

    Just passed the 4 hour mark now. Please don't tell me I'm sneakin' up on the 10 hour record. WHY???

    Chuck

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    12,121
    Well at least you know that someone is looking into it. I got the feeling they were just ignoring you by your post.
    HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

    Chicken

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Schwerin Germany
    Posts
    71
    For the first 3 hours they were. It wasn't until I called every minute for 10 minutes that I finally got someone to listen.

    Is there a Hosting God? If so what's his/her name. I think it might be time to start praying. hehe.

    Chuck

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Schwerin Germany
    Posts
    71
    Now well over 5 hours. halfway to the record. sigh.

    chuck

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    12,121
    10 hours isn't the record. It is the record from two weeks ago until today. If you stick around here, you'll see far worse than 10 hours... days, even weeks. Ask the pogo crew (I'm not even sure they're up yet?). of course by that time, I'd have had another server up and worry about getting the 'beast' up whenever, or not at all.
    HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

    Chicken

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Schwerin Germany
    Posts
    71
    Well, we're at 7 hours now and counting. This is really suckin butt.

    Chuck

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •