Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: webstats

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037

    webstats

    I dont use any control panels and until now i have been setting up awstats manually for each customer.

    is there any webstats script (free) that can be installed easily or automatically for domains i add to the box

    Otherwise i might have to write a bash script for awstats... has anyone done this sort of thing ?
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    453
    free is free. if someone gives that away for free.. then there giving away a good product.

    commercial apps: urchin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    err

    Most "good" products are given away free, I wasnt being tight.. I believe in open source as do millions of other people....

    Anyone got anything worth posting ?
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    281
    hi, I use webstats and I've the same problem.... I have to create a .conf file for every single domain. well i think there is no other way than to make a bash for this... could somebody please lend me such a script?
    Real name: Tar Mkdir, consort of Dir Rar
    Working for: Imperial Klingon Vine Impex
    Note: No, we do not beam vine! Don't offend the Empire with such requests!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    ill have a go at making a bash script..

    how do you install the stats for each domain..

    copy a directory over each time and use a common place for the graphics ?
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    281
    hi matt, here my "step-by-step howto" to add stats to a new customer:

    1) create logs directory:
    /var/www/html/newdomain.com/logs


    2) copy .htaccess and .htpasswd from another domain
    cp /var/www/html/olddomain.com/logs/.htaccess /var/www/html/newdomain.com/logs/.htaccess
    cp /var/www/html/olddomain.com/logs/.htpasswd /var/www/html/newdomain.com/logs/.htpasswd


    3) edit the .htaccess inside newdomain.com/logs to have the right path to .htpasswd


    4) copy an already existent webalizer .conf file
    cp /etc/webalizer/[B]olddomain.com.conf/B] /etc/webalizer/newdomain.com.conf


    5) replace inside the newdomain.com.conf file every olddomain.com with newdomain.com


    I guess this is the most common way to do this... at least I hope so. Would be really kind of you to make a nearly universal bash
    Real name: Tar Mkdir, consort of Dir Rar
    Working for: Imperial Klingon Vine Impex
    Note: No, we do not beam vine! Don't offend the Empire with such requests!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    ive been using awstats.. i think ill try webalizer..
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    281
    is awstat more complex in terms of managment or are you unhappy with the reports? just curios...
    Real name: Tar Mkdir, consort of Dir Rar
    Working for: Imperial Klingon Vine Impex
    Note: No, we do not beam vine! Don't offend the Empire with such requests!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    I will let you know... ive never really tried webalizer.

    The output of both is fine, I just want the easiest script in terms of installing it on many domains.. and maybe putting the install procedure into the bash script i use to setup domain names on the box.
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,258
    Try:

    analog: http://analog.sourceforge.net/
    report magic: http://www.reportmagic.org/
    webstats: http://patsplanet.com/software/webstats


    Analog does the stats. Report Magic makes them look nice. Webstats automates the process of running the reports.

    OTOH, I've been using awstats cuz it handles the incremental logs better.

    Frank
    Umbra Hosting
    cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | R1Soft | Ksplice
    Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers, Colocation
    UmbraHosting.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    Is there a faster way of making the config file for each domain rather than manually editing ... i suppose i could make a bash script to take an input and create the config file each time ..

    Originally posted by realalien
    [B]hi matt, here my "step-by-step howto" to add stats to a new customer:

    1) create logs directory:
    /var/www/html/newdomain.com/logs


    2) copy .htaccess and .htpasswd from another domain
    cp /var/www/html/olddomain.com/logs/.htaccess /var/www/html/newdomain.com/logs/.htaccess
    cp /var/www/html/olddomain.com/logs/.htpasswd /var/www/html/newdomain.com/logs/.htpasswd


    3) edit the .htaccess inside newdomain.com/logs to have the right path to .htpasswd


    4) copy an already existent webalizer .conf file
    cp /etc/webalizer/olddomain.com.conf/B] /etc/webalizer/newdomain.com.conf


    5) replace inside the newdomain.com.conf file every olddomain.com with newdomain.com


    I guess this is the most common way to do this... at least I hope so. Would be really kind of you to make a nearly universal bash
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    281
    hi matt,

    sorry for my late reply.

    a faster way: well I think it should be possibile to use a generic template for the conf file. I think two variables (perhaps 1) should be enough to be able to generate a full .conf file.

    did you already install webstats? if you need it and if you want I could send you an example of a webstat .conf file.

    greets,
    a real alien
    Real name: Tar Mkdir, consort of Dir Rar
    Working for: Imperial Klingon Vine Impex
    Note: No, we do not beam vine! Don't offend the Empire with such requests!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    Yeah i got it all setup so i just add conf files to /etc/webalizer and cron'ed a command to run every config in that dir each day.

    I have a load of bash scripts i use to add domains.. so now i need to add somehting to that bash script to create a conf file.

    I dont like the idea of echo'ing every line of the conf file in a bash script to a file.. how do i make a template and have the script copy it and insert the $domain variable ?
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    281
    quote: how do i make a template and have the script copy it and insert the $domain variable ?

    hi Matt, sorry but I'm unable to help you coz of missing skills. Perhaps you should ask in a Dev forum.

    Please keep me updated

    thanks a lot
    Real name: Tar Mkdir, consort of Dir Rar
    Working for: Imperial Klingon Vine Impex
    Note: No, we do not beam vine! Don't offend the Empire with such requests!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    I know how to do it.. but it involves copying every line of the config into a bash script for eching to a file.

    Do you know .. if i just want the defaults.. can i delete the lines from the config file ?

    If i could reduce the size of the file i could make the script in minutes.. otherwise i have a lot of copying and pasting to do.
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    281
    hi Matt,

    yes you can leave away the config files... I've uncommented some instead of setting YES to NO or the other way round.
    Real name: Tar Mkdir, consort of Dir Rar
    Working for: Imperial Klingon Vine Impex
    Note: No, we do not beam vine! Don't offend the Empire with such requests!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    647
    hello matt,

    i can write a bash script for you, do let me know what is required cos i have never used the stats package in question.

    Cheers!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    281
    please keep me updated about the bash I'd love to have it!

    thanks
    Real name: Tar Mkdir, consort of Dir Rar
    Working for: Imperial Klingon Vine Impex
    Note: No, we do not beam vine! Don't offend the Empire with such requests!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    ok ill post what i have later, might not make much sense to you because i use it in with a bash script i use for setting up accounts (the box im using it on has no control panel)
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    348
    I agree setting up awstats for each domain is a kinda pain. i started writing a PHP CLI script awhile ago to handle this, i'll see if i can find it and maybe touch it up and post it later tonite.
    AC Host Canada Affordable Canadian Web Hosting Solutions
    Shared Hosting | Email Hosting | DNS Hosting | Custom Plans Available
    Website: www.achost.ca email: [email protected]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •