Question Dedicated vs Virtual Dedicated?

Hi, everyone..

I'm a refugee from the shared hosting wars. Have a community Portal, with up to 500 possible users. Written in JSPs. IMPOSSIBLE to find a shared host that doesn't jam too many users onto their servers, causing my app to perform horribly. (It runs great on my dedicated box, so I know it's not the app).

So, I am trying to decide: go with a Dedicated (seems a bit much) vs. a Virtual Dedicated Server.

Since my needs are for a single app (and I am not trying to host multiple sites, etc), is VDS or Dedicated overkill? I do know that my experiences with Shared hosting have totally not been a lot of fun, and am thinking that a box all my own (or a VDS without too many other sites on it) might be the way to go.

Also - I'm a newbie to VDS, and can't seem to find many VDS companies that truly slice up system resources into guaranteed chunks of CPU, memory, etc. Is there a better resource for finding these?

Oh, and one last (small) requirement: I'm really trying to keep out of pocket costs to $50-99 as I am paying for the site out of personal funds right now.

Thanks -

Jim

You probably would want an Ensim SX host for the VDS as you want guaranteed resources. Try going to Google.

Taking from your post, "VDS, guaranteed CPU, memory " for example will pull up providers.

Or if you're feeling brave you could try one of them $49 - $99/mth servers from - http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread...threadid=76004
    AussieHost.com Aussie Bob, host since 2001
    Host Multiple Domains on Fast Australian Servers!!

Thanks..I'm actually a UNIX admin guy from waaaay back, so trying to admin RedHat on one of the UnitedColo boxes doesn't sound like too bad of a way to go. The only limiting thing there is that UC has only been in biz a few months now, and don't have a track record yet. Things there could work out just fine, but I'd hate to put my site there only to find them vanishing in 3-6 months..