Results 1 to 27 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286

    This is so stupid....

    Ok... Me and my little bro went out to a computer show here in Toronto. He spent all his life savings on this AMD 1.2GHz (a lot faster then his old pc) came out to be $200 CAD I think... He bought the motherboard, ram, case, and a power supply.

    Me and my bro don't live at the same place, so, I went home and he went home to put it together. Not much later... He called me up saying that "the thing won't turn on! Can you come over??"

    He was getting pretty worried there... Spent all his money, and couldn't get it to work.

    Anyways, I went over the next day to help him out. He hooked everything up right. But still no power. Press the power button, and nothing. The cpu fan wouldn't move, the power supply fan wouldn't move... no sounds at all... Seems to be dead... what do you think is wrong???

    And ya know what.... I'm gonna let you guys guess what it was!
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    7,147
    1) i dont see any mention of a power cord
    2) is the switch behind the power supply set to on or off??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    not plugged in !!!
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286
    Nope... Keep guessing....
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    switch at wall socket was off ?
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    924
    The wire from power button to motherboard wasn't plugged in?
    Unlimited Space & Bandwidth
    http://localhost/
    Providing hosting since 17/99/3003

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    112
    The power selector switch on the back of the power supply was in the wrong position? 110volts vs 220volts

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286
    Nope... We tried different wall plugs and power cables. Even tested for power with a monitor... There is definitely power going into the box.

    And, the voltage switch was in the right position...
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286
    The wire from power button to motherboard was plugged in tazzy
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,963
    Well on my mobo it wouldnt power up until i plugged in that little wire, coming from my case, into the mobo.

    you have to find it and plug it in. not sure if you already did that, but you might want to try that.

    if my advice is useless to you (i.e you already tried it) then i'm sorry. im hardware newb.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    196
    are you sure the wire going from the power button to the mobo is in the right place, and not backwards(happens alot)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,277
    Electric was off at his house

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    2,564
    could be a lot of things...he could have fried the board by touching it...it oculd not be hooked up right...coudl be a bad board...if the board was new..i'd send it back to the manufacture (unless its a crappy board with no warrenty) most of thetime they test it for oyu and if its messed up they fix it or send you a new one (all you gotta pay is like $15 for shipping on most good manufactures)...hope oyu get it going...
    -Robert Norton
    www.SophMedia.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,299
    The surge protector wasn't plugged in.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    2,564
    one more thing...this happens alot that i see...bad power supply...go rip one out of another system (maybe his old one will work probly needs around a 300 could get buy with a 225 if there was no drives plugged in)
    -Robert Norton
    www.SophMedia.com

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286
    lol... yes, I got it to work....

    We tried several different power supply's, so it wasn't the power supply.... All plugs from the box were plugged in fine....
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    112
    Something was grounding the motherboard to the case?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286
    Hey, were're getting closer... now we're inside the case, lol

    maybe I should just tell you guys... hmmm
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  19. #19
    The BIOS clear jumper was left in the clear position?
    Adam Heavens
    Server Centre Limited (www.servercentre.net)
    Exchange 2007 Hosting, Windows/Linux Hosting

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286
    WOW!!!!! you got it isolsdotnet!!!!!!

    You would think that when you buy a motherboard & CPU combo, all jumpers would be set correctly...

    There were 2 settings for that jumber...

    1. Clear Bios
    2. Normal Operation

    The guys sold him the motherboard and cpu with the Clear Bios jumper on!

    After an hour of fiddling, 1 stupid little jumber....


    Has this ever happened to any of you?
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,571
    Is the power supply hooked to the motherboard?
    -Mooneer
    Thoughtbug Software: Hosting shouldn't require any thought.
    Legitimate host? Support the Code of Ethical Conduct

  22. #22
    Yes two or three times, I used to build systems for a living, so this became one of the things that you check before you switch the system on. Some motherboards come with it on and some don't.
    Adam Heavens
    Server Centre Limited (www.servercentre.net)
    Exchange 2007 Hosting, Windows/Linux Hosting

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286
    That was fun, lol...
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    2,564
    ive had problems with that before didn't think of it though...fans suck water cooling is awesome
    -Robert Norton
    www.SophMedia.com

  25. #25
    I just don't like the idea of mixing water and electricity
    Adam Heavens
    Server Centre Limited (www.servercentre.net)
    Exchange 2007 Hosting, Windows/Linux Hosting

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    2,564
    have you ever used it? if you do it right and buy a kit its very safe...and i actually dont run water in my servers i run like this i guess you could say anti freeze type stuff (wonder if it tastes the same jk)
    -Robert Norton
    www.SophMedia.com

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,571
    Originally posted by mattschinkel
    After an hour of fiddling, 1 stupid little jumber....
    Congrats!
    -Mooneer
    Thoughtbug Software: Hosting shouldn't require any thought.
    Legitimate host? Support the Code of Ethical Conduct

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •