Thread: Starting out

New York

Starting out

I've been considering becoming a reseller for sometime now and have a few questions about it.

1) What legal requirements are there for starting you're reselling business ie: state laws etc. or where would be the best place to look for state specific laws ?

2) Do many resellers offer domain registration also and how is that done?

Thanks For Any Help!

Hi cmahagan, I'm a total newbie myself but I would imagine you would register your business with your local government which would give you a permit and an obligation to pay taxes if any. You could always apply for a Federal Tax ID with the which has its benefits but you could just use your SS# instead. You would have to pay sales taxes for clients that live in your own state. I would say that's all the legal requirements involved unless you decided to incorporate which has some benefits. I just wonder how many actually do the above. You might get by until you start receiving a fair amount of clients in which case you should do the legalities.

You can also be a reseller for domain registration companies and integrate the service it into your hosting biz. is one such company.

If you have more specific questions your city government is a good place to start. Just ask them the specifics of getting a business permit.

Good luck!

As for the tax portion of your question the cheapest easiest way to get this done is just to go to your local Town Hall and get a DBA which is a Doing.Business.As. Then go to the bank get either a business or personal checking account under "Your Name D.B.A. Your Company Name" save all your receipts and keep tradck of your income and when tax time rolls around go see the tax man.