Thread: Completely new

* Completely new

I'd like to start off by saying, hello everyone. I am new to this forum and to the web hosting biz, I would like to start one up so I can support a game I am creating ( Http:// ) and so I can get some extra money in my pocket. Right now I have $400 I am looking to spend on Atleast 2 months of hosting (Hopefully 4-5gigs of space and 40+ gigs/month bandwith), as well as advertising ($50-100?). Can anyone give me some advice on some good hosts, good advertising methods, money transfers, all of that stuff.. As well as how/where to buy cheap domains?

Like I said, I am completely new to this and would like to start up a succesful business.

Thanks in advanced!

I just got a host, a few domains, ect.. Now I just need advertising. I don't have a credit card right now (Got shred up), but have a paypal account with $100 in it, anyone know of a good pay-pal-accepting advertiser?

Toronto, Ontario
    I don't know if this is the right forum to do that, but you should try:

PPC is expensive now, before it use to be cheap Try finding ways to market it cheaply.
    Kaumil P.

I would suggest searching these forums for a good reliable host this forum is full of them.. I would say for that much space/bandwidth you are looking at $60-100 a month. If you can lower the amount of space you need to say 1 gig or so you can drop that price dramatically. As far as advertising I would look around the game forums and ask about setting up ads and get some rates.. You can also setup a link back program with other gaming sites. I have noticed that the gaming community seems to usually be very freindly so I dont think you will have a hard time at all.. There is also something called web-rings which you can join and will also give you some nice promotion along with other gaming sites.

Re: Completely new

Originally posted by TetsuoAkira
    Like I said, I am completely new to this and would like to start up a succesful business.