Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: DNS Problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    5,383

    Post DNS Problems

    Hello,

    We are having a small dns issue on some servers. After a recent cpanel upgrade we have developed some problems.

    We have two nameserver machines that sync with eachother. Everthing has been working fine till 1-2 days ago.

    The problem is with newly created subdomains, and now some older ones.

    If I do a dig on the nameserver machines it can show the contents eg:

    [email protected] [~]# dig storage.thekaoszone.com

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> storage.thekaoszone.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 6280
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;storage.thekaoszone.com. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    storage.thekaoszone.com. 14400 IN A 216.180.224.66

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    thekaoszone.com. 14400 IN NS dns2.myacen.com.
    thekaoszone.com. 14400 IN NS dns1.myacen.com.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    dns1.myacen.com. 14400 IN A 216.180.224.66
    dns2.myacen.com. 14400 IN A 216.180.225.178

    ;; Query time: 1 msec
    ;; SERVER: 216.180.224.66#53(216.180.224.66)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Oct 3 01:02:52 2002
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 134

    [email protected] [~]#
    On a non dns machine (using different dns settings)

    [email protected] [~]# dig storage.thekaoszone.com

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> storage.thekaoszone.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 49839
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;storage.thekaoszone.com. IN A

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    thekaoszone.com. 7434 IN SOA dns1.myacen.com. root.darwin.myacen.com. 1032867943 28800 7200 3600000 86400

    ;; Query time: 2 msec
    ;; SERVER: 209.51.138.2#53(209.51.138.2)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Oct 3 05:03:32 2002
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 101

    [email protected] [~]#
    Any idea's guys?
    Clustered Hosting With Continuous Data Protection (CDP)
    http://www.solidinternet.com
    8 Years of hosting excellence!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    To Myacen...

    With those information that you have posted...am i right that the first block on dig result = woking DNS and the 2nd one....the shorter one..is not working..

    I am having the same problem too. Can anyone please help.
    Thanks alot in advance.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    5,383
    That's right
    Clustered Hosting With Continuous Data Protection (CDP)
    http://www.solidinternet.com
    8 Years of hosting excellence!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    Oh ok....so have you got the problem fix? i am having the same prob...I hav been tryin to fix for over 4 days already..

    Any idea what to do?....and also i am using cpane...are you...

    Appreciate any help from anyone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    5,383
    Not yet, thus the post here. However it may have something to do with bind updates. We are using version 8 should we upgrade to 9?
    Clustered Hosting With Continuous Data Protection (CDP)
    http://www.solidinternet.com
    8 Years of hosting excellence!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    dUN THINK so...I am using BIND 9.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    In regards to NAMED setup....where else should i need to configure...

    What i know is
    /etc/hosts
    /etc/resolv.conf

    any other files i should look at?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    Do you think reload BIND 9 will be an good idea?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Madras
    Posts
    738
    is named on the dns2 server working? and can you try a ./named reload on it?

    i cant tell for sure but probably the brisbane server is returning the data from its own cache but is not responding to external queries
    Offering Managed Servers - for an exclusive clientèle who value uptime, caring support and superior technology.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    Hey pple...i have trouble with my NAMED for 5 days..until i tried this..please try ..dun ask me why..it works for me.

    go to /etc/rc.d/init./d and type ./ipchains stop

    and try and see whether ur NAMED prob fix!!...if it is fix...go back there and ./ipchains start and try again.

    It work for me..
    Dun ask me why

    Just sharing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •