Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    how do i know if im behind a firewall or not?

    I am trying to connect to my server...but i keep getting ping time out.... is it because im behind a firewall? im not sure if i am..how do i check whether im behind a firewall or not?

  2. #2
    Your provider should be able to tell you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Posts
    33,190
    Why not try a tracert from somewhere other than your local network? Something like at http://www.domainwhitepages.com/
    There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  4. #4
    Originally posted by GoldenWeb
    Your provider should be able to tell you.
    tell me what? why i get ping time out?...i know its my ends prob because they said they were able to login without any prob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Posts
    33,190
    Are you on *your* computer; in your home?
    Or; are you at your work computer?
    Maybe Bob thought you were at work.
    There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  6. #6
    Oh sorry I thought you meant your server behind a firewall.
    You should know if you have a firewall. Do you have a router or a firewall proggie like zone alarm installed in your PC?

  7. #7
    if its not obvious....gotta tell you im not a computer guy!..

    i dont have any of those proggie installed...

    i dont know why im getting the timeout error.

    btw..im on a mac...does that help?

  8. #8
    im on home computer btw....

  9. #9
    There could be any number of reasons and hard to help without being there. Invite a puter-savvy friend over for a beer.

  10. #10


    its ok. thanks anyway!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Parsippany, NJ
    Posts
    117
    try to ping it from www.network-tools.com, perhaps there is a router with ICPM disabled somewhere between your house and your server. If you get the same result from both locations thats probably the case.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    541
    nah - AOL IM and a few others, when they have problems connecting to the server will give a generic message that lists a few potential things wrong, including firewall.

    do you have a good connection to the net when you are trying to connect to chat?

    -Wc-

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286
    If you are directly connected to the internet, you are not behind a firewall. Unless there is some kinds of firewall software installed. If you run windows xp, you may have a firewall (comes with the os for protection)

    If you are on a network with more then one pc, then you are behind a firewall. (Check your ip number, if it is something like 192.168.xxx.xxx , or 10.xxx.xxx.xxx, then you are on a network and you are behind a firewall)
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    286
    oops, your on a mac... so you don't have win xp installed... du!
    I don't know if any firewalls come with the mac os's
    www.prolinker.com - free automatic linking to your website

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Dayton Ohio USA
    Posts
    127
    And if you don't have firewall software, you probably should. A worthwhile investment even for the home user.
    KG
    Play rugby! www.daytonrugby.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •