I saw a thread or two in the Tutorials forum saying you should look at web hosting review sites as one way to find a good/reliable host. Then I saw another thread on this site saying that you can't trust any of the review sites because the reviews might all be written by the hosts' salesmen, and you should just go to WHT to find good hosts.
    Well I'm a newbie with this stuff. I want to set up a few simple web sites, experiment with AdSense, maybe set up a web-based message board or two. I take it that "shared hosting" is what I want right now? I see that there is a "Find A Host" link at the top of WHT. Are the host providers in there the ones that I should be looking at, or are they just random host providers who have paid to be in there?

I saw a thread or two in the Tutorials forum saying you should look at web hosting review sites as one way to find a good/reliable host. Then I saw another thread on this site saying that you can't trust any of the review sites because the reviews might all be written by the hosts' salesmen, and you should just go to WHT to find good hosts.
    Well I'm a newbie with this stuff. I want to set up a few simple web sites, experiment with AdSense, maybe set up a web-based message board or two. I take it that "shared hosting" is what I want right now? I see that there is a "Find A Host" link at the top of WHT. Are the host providers in there the ones that I should be looking at, or are they just random host providers who have paid to be in there?
    Most review sites do have ways of preventing the actual host from making the reviews. I've noticed WebHostingStuff to be tough on that. As far as the Find a Host link, that only will allow hosts who have subscribed to give you an offer.

moonstar Guest
    Reading reviews always gives an idea even they are trustable or not... If a company has lots of negative reviews, it can not be wrong...