hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Access DirectAdmin site without domain - possible with cPanel!
Reply

Forum Jump

Access DirectAdmin site without domain - possible with cPanel!

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 972
Hi,
I'm new to using directadmin and I've got a problem; I've not yet switched the DNS over to the directadmin server 'cause I want to make sure the sites work first, however I can't find how to view the sites. With cpanel you can go to http://192.168.1.1/~username (where 192.168.1.1 = IP of server and username is username of account).
is this possible with directadmin? I can't find anything about it, anywhere.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northallerton
Posts: 249
Does for directadmin for me too

  #3  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 20
I do no think directadmin as anything to do with this option is more of apache web server having this feature enabled most of them do.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 972
I do no think directadmin as anything to do with this option is more of apache web server having this feature enabled most of them do.
haha, you're right! I was checking the wrong IP before, just tried it with a different one and it worked.
Thanks! Problem solved, silly me

  #5  
Old
James Lee
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,922
Yes this works on DA too. However if I am not mistaken it works a little differently for addon domains. In cPanel you can see any of the site of addon domains as well but in DA you will need to make the addon domain as the main domain in order to let it show up.

  #6  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 7,188
Yes this works on DA too. However if I am not mistaken it works a little differently for addon domains. In cPanel you can see any of the site of addon domains as well but in DA you will need to make the addon domain as the main domain in order to let it show up.
Correct, that's how DA works regarding the temporary URL.

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
http://IP of server/~DAusername/

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
UK Web Host Astutium Acquires Three Greek Hosting Companies Web Hosting News 2014-01-02 10:09:51
Siter Launches cPanel Plugin for Domain Dialing Web Hosting News 2013-08-20 16:15:40
TrendyTools Launches HTML 5 Website Builder cPanel Plugin Web Hosting News 2013-08-07 14:18:20
SSHD Rootkit in the Wild Blog 2013-02-22 16:44:08
eNom Integrates New TLD Tool with Parallels Plesk for Hosts to Build Watchlists Web Hosting News 2013-01-29 14:54:00


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?