Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Aussie Land
    Posts
    162

    phpManager and CPanel WHM

    k, I'm trying to understand how this works...

    I've visited both websites but am not very clear about this... phpManager manages the clients right? not the auto setup of clients?

    WHM does the autosetup of clients...

    so how does WHM know when there is a pending client to setup?

    Does anyone here use WHM together with phpManager?

    Not sure if I'm very clear... Is WHM designed to work around phpManager? or is it the other way around?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    7,147
    phpmanager integrates with and uses WHM to create the accounts..that's what makes it automatic

    WHM doesn't do autosetup you have to do it...phpmanager allows you to autosetup and manage clients

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Aussie Land
    Posts
    162
    are there a lot of people doing this? is it easy to setup?

    So phpManager uses WHM to autosetup accounts, does that mean that phpManager cannot autosetup accounts without WHM?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    7,147
    Originally posted by dragonhawk
    are there a lot of people doing this? is it easy to setup?
    i used to use it....great for when you can count your clients on your hand and maybe a foot...but once you grow...not enough features (or at least that's how it was)

    i dunno about the new versions, but when i used it, setup was a little tricky...if you have php knowledge and have installed semicomplex scripts in the past, it'll be a breeze...

    although it doesn't have WHM/cpanel integration yet, and costs a lot more money, check out modernbill.com very easy setup, very easy to use (though there are a couple of minor bugs)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    7,147
    So phpManager uses WHM to autosetup accounts, does that mean that phpManager cannot autosetup accounts without WHM?
    you edited with my back turned!

    anywho, you are correct, AFAIK phpmanager cannot auto setup accounts without whm/cpanel installed

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Aussie Land
    Posts
    162
    hehe, didn't know you were going to be that fast :p

    What does AFAIK stand for?

    I'm just researching at the moment and ModernBill seems a little too expensive for me, a small startup with zero clients...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    7,147
    Originally posted by dragonhawk
    hehe, didn't know you were going to be that fast :p
    You'll learn pretty quick - i'm one of the leading addicts

    Originally posted by dragonhawk
    What does AFAIK stand for?
    AFAIK=As Far As I Know
    Some of my fellow addicts created this thread especially for you:
    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showth...threadid=40856


    Originally posted by dragonhawk
    I'm just researching at the moment and ModernBill seems a little too expensive for me, a small startup with zero clients...
    Very true, ModernBill is rather expensive, but if you are determined to grow, it's a great piece of software to start with...and with v4 coming out, it'll be even more worth it

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Aussie Land
    Posts
    162
    Yeah, I've seen that thread... thought it was a bit long to go through each page

    Anyway, thanks for your insight...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •