hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Programming Discussion : MySQL stored procedures - granting execute
Reply

Forum Jump

MySQL stored procedures - granting execute

Reply Post New Thread In Programming Discussion Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2009, 09:23 AM
Snargleflap Snargleflap is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 259
I've been at it for a while, but I just can't seem to get the syntax right on granting execute permission on stored procedures to my MySQL user.
I've tried to track down examples online, and tried to figure it out from the MySQL website docs, but I still can't seem to get it to work.
I'm trying to do something like this inside the MySQL Query Browser:
grant execute on *.* to 'my_username'
If I try a wildcard, I get the error 1045 - Access denied for (insert user here)
If I try it on a specific stored procedure, I get the error 1144 - Illegal GRANT/REVOKE command.
I'm an MSSQL guy, and this is my first go at using MySQL, so bear with me gang
Thanks for any help you can provide.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-28-2009, 02:28 PM
vibrokatana vibrokatana is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 337
What user are you using to grant the permissions?

  #3  
Old 02-28-2009, 06:52 PM
Snargleflap Snargleflap is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 259
What user are you using to grant the permissions?
Executing a query inside of the code window in MySQL Query Browser

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 02-28-2009, 06:59 PM
DevMonkey DevMonkey is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,111
Which user are you logged in as when using MySQL query browser though? I don't use the application myself so can't tell you how to find out on there, but run this query:
status
then, look at "Current user:"

  #5  
Old 02-28-2009, 07:04 PM
Snargleflap Snargleflap is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 259
I executed "status" and it threw an error as well. Maybe query browser isn't the right place to do this? It seems very similar to MS Sql Query Analyzer, so it seems the proper place to execute commands like this.
But like I said, I'm just getting started with MySQL. I haven't had any problems yet using Administrator to build tables and such, but I'm a bit stuck at this point. I definitely want to use stored procs, so I'll keep digging, the answer is out there somewhere
But do directly answer your question, I'm using the only user that I created for the database.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Tesora's OpenStack DBaaS Supports MongoDB, Cassandra, Redis, and MySQL Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 14:53:11
Search Warrants Apply to All Worldwide Data Held by US Service Providers, Judge Rules Web Hosting News 2014-04-28 14:41:23
Google Releases Hosted Database Service Cloud SQL to General Availability Web Hosting News 2014-02-12 13:46:02
Google Cloud Provides Support For Native MySQL Connections Web Hosting News 2013-11-01 14:36:06
NASA Cloud Implementation Sloppy, Leaves Security Gaps: Report Web Hosting News 2013-07-30 15:35:56


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?