hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Data Centres
Reply

Forum Jump

Data Centres

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hi i need some help, i am planning to open a data centre but dont know were to start from. can some one tell me the funds required and also the equipment involved.
Also what else can someone use a data centre for...
Thanks
Tsflora



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Opening a datacenter is a very expensive investment, you should really look at colocating servers in an existing DC before considering opening one yourself.

  #3  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,970
There is a lot to consider with a datacenter, to do it properly the investment is huge. As suggested above you may want to look at colocation, unless you have a lot of servers this is most cost effective - or maybe even dedicated if you only have a few.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for that advise, i have available funds of around £100,000
can i atleast make a start with this much funds and secondly i have people already employeed who look after all the IT and networking.
Please if possible i am new in the field can i know what else could i do with the data centre to generate income.
I dnt have to carter for the costs for building as i have my own premises around 3000sq feet.

  #5  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 136
you need to multiply your available funds by at least 100 times...

  #6  
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
With this funds you can buy 42u rack, few servers and colotate it somewhere... it would be good start.

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 289
Thanks for that advise, i have available funds of around £100,000
I'm not sure where you're based (UK I assume?), but in the UK it will cost you towards £100,000 (more in a lot of places) just to get your local electrical distribution operator to upgrade your building's power feed to anything useful for even a medium-low sized site.

  #8  
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have seen individual companies build mediocre server rooms for around that price - should buy you a small UPS, basic HVAC, anti-static floor for a couple of racks at most plus the networking gear you need.
Is that what you're trying to do? If you are looking to go into business as a colocation service provider, you're going to need a lot more money (maybe not 100x, but at least 10x to start).

  #9  
Old
WHT Content Curator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,717
That budget is a bit too low, unfortunately. You may want to look into other options mentioned by the other posters.
-mike

  #10  
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ok i have been tryong to figure out even if i managed to raise the income. how would i get my return. basically what else can be done to a data centre to utilize it fully to generate income.

  #11  
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
and if possible can any one tell he how can i get my way forward, if i have the resources and money.e.g setup e.t.c

  #12  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 238
Hire a consultant to get an idea of who, what, when, where, how and the associated pitfalls.
Someone has to come out and inspect your facility before any planning/engineering can be done.
As for generating income, you would be the "landlord" leasing "contracted" space, power, bandwidth and technical services.

  #13  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,411
ok i have been tryong to figure out even if i managed to raise the income. how would i get my return. basically what else can be done to a data centre to utilize it fully to generate income.
With your budget, you're probably better off getting a custom cage in an existing data centre rather than building out your own. It'll be much less capex spent, and much easier to fill the space.
You also won't have to worry about bringing connectivity to your site, in case you were thinking of building your dc somewhere other than in a telco building.

  #14  
Old
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wow these things cost that much new? I am a sys admin in a DC that is slowly being decom. We just disposed of 5 full size IBM racks..

  #15  
Old
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 744
That budget is low and even opening a DC is a risk!
You need rent a space somewhere with this money and sell your collocated servers if you are achieve in this, you can open a DC in future

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Bitcoin Exchange Blames Data Center Provider for $100,000 Theft Web Hosting News 2014-03-20 13:48:19
CWCS Managed Hosting Listing 2014-10-22 09:48:28
European Commission Looks to Standardize PUE Power Metric for Data Centers Web Hosting News 2012-11-22 13:15:11
CSC Australia Receives $2.76 Million Grant to Develop Cloud, Cybersecurity Centers Web Hosting News 2012-11-16 14:07:28
Virtus Meets Customer Growth with London Data Center Expansion Web Hosting News 2012-10-30 15:26:38


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?