Starting my own Server from scratch - Questions.

Well, I'm not a computer newbie but don't honsetly know much about servers. The company my wife works for has a small website and about 6 email accounts hosted by a company doing it for free but not offering much for support or options. They are looking into hosting their own website/email on their own server. They currently don't have anything web related at all so it would be starting completely from scratch.

I'm wondering if you can throw together a quick list of what would be needed other than the obvious: Server machine, Server OS, Firewall, Static IP Internet connection.

Thanks for any help,

Well, if you are unsure about running a web server and so on, probably the best method would be to go for managed solutions either managed shared virtual hosting or managed dedicatd hosting. But from the looks of things, since it would be a small-ish web site, the shared virtual should do just fine. I am sure that you get pretty responsive web host who do visit this forum.

However, as far as hardware/software is concern, if you are doing the Linux based hosting, most of the necessary software are available on the Linux installation. As for the hardware, you probably need the server itself, LAN card, router and a good network uplink provider. This might be rather expensive.

If you either do dedicated hosting (you lease the connection and server) or colocation (you lease the connection but own the server), it would be cheaper since you do not need to bother about starting a datacenter which usually would provide other necessary features such as power backup, security and lower cost. - Offering Batch Image Processing and TIFF/PDF Software Solutions

Technically you COULD use just about any half-decent computer as a server if you install a server operating system, enough storage, and memory into it and plug it into a connection.