hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Running Chat servers?
Reply

Forum Jump

Running Chat servers?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 184

Running Chat servers?


Hi

I recently came accross the idea of making an instant messenger program for a small group of friends of mine.

After realising that it would need a server with a constant IP so the messengers could find other users, I suddenly realised that I couldn't run server.exe on linux.

My question is this:

Can you run .exe's on a windows host, and if so how can you control them?

I've also been told to learn C and program something which will run on a linux server, but I don't have a clue where to start there...



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bunbury, WA
Posts: 86
hehehe
I think you might want to look into IRCd's. (Internet Relay Chat Daemon).
I suggest hybrid on a FreeBSD machine.
Good luck!
- Ross

__________________
For quality hosting at a quality datacenter - www.ultralogic.net
admin@ultralogic.net

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 35
Well there's such a thing called Windows Shell Accounts, basicaly what it is, it's like a Unix Shell Account which lets you run stuff 24/7 but a windows shell account is under windows. So you can upload VNC or PCAnywhere then just login and do whatever you want on the shell account... MOST windows shell accounts are expensive since it's kinda like a dedicated server to you since you cant really have 10 users running from the same windows at the same time.

__________________
EZScripts - Quality PHP Scripts, Low Price (includes Custom Scripting on request.)
http://www.EZScripts.net/

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 184
Thanks for the advice!

Any other tips out there?

  #5  
Old
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 771
If it is just for a few friends, use your home connection on a DSL line!


That should suffice

  #6  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 184
That would be fine if I wasn't on a dial-up modem with a dynamic IP <starts cryin>

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - January 31, 2014 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:42:30
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – July 5, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:42:58
SiteLock and WebsiteAlive Partner to Secure Live Chat Web Hosting News 2013-06-21 12:06:42
Filipino Startup Offerchat Introduces Connectivity Improvements to Free Live Chat Tool Web Hosting News 2013-05-14 16:48:31
Web Host Verio Offers Live Chat Support Through LiveChime Partnership Web Hosting News 2012-12-12 10:59:01


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?