hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : Game Servers : Problem with Counter-strike 1.6 server?
Reply

Forum Jump

Problem with Counter-strike 1.6 server?

Reply Post New Thread In Game Servers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:03 PM
7773737 7773737 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Hi, i wanted to sell 2 servers to friends/people and possibly more servers if it goes well, but i seem to get a problem. Whenever i try to run the dedicated server i get this annoying message and it wont let me start my server!
My error was EXACTLY this
Available memory less than 15 MB!!! - 104857600
i tried all five compatibilities for the cs server and some guy told me i needed to change my virtual memory. But when i try to change my virtual memory of my VPS which is located here
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i249/iownunoob/Problem.jpg
I made my initial and and maximum size 4644 and it asked me to restart so i did. After restarting it STILL doesnt work and when i go back to the virtual memory. It still says 0 mb and a temporary page file something was created because the old one didnt work or something similar to that. HELP!



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:48 PM
j2m2 j2m2 is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jimmy's World! Yeah!
Posts: 150
you're trying to run a dedicated server on a VPS which is not recommended because its shared environment and thus the timing is off and also because its a windows VPS i think you dont have enough RAM

  #3  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:53 PM
7773737 7773737 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
I have 3 gb of ram!

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 12-28-2008, 09:48 PM
BrianFarrell BrianFarrell is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 351
While I don't know what the error you're receiving is, I do know that running a gameserver off any VPS is a poor idea, the servers won't run well.

  #5  
Old 12-28-2008, 10:13 PM
7773737 7773737 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
As i said in my first post
Available memory less than 15 MB!!! - 104857600
that was my error.

  #6  
Old 12-28-2008, 10:35 PM
Jacob Wall Jacob Wall is offline
Think big, and discover! :)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,520
Run>TaskMgr.exe
Check the RAM, the VPS company *could* be strangling your ram. Any company thats giving 3GB of ram, probably isn't actually giving it to you... unless you pay outrageous per/month.

  #7  
Old 12-28-2008, 10:49 PM
7773737 7773737 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
As i said before, when i tried changing to paging file. Shown on picture in my post before even after restarting as windows prompted me to. It had no effect and the virtual memory still stayed at 0mb when i changed it to the recommended size
http://img399.imageshack.us/my.php?image=tasklm3.jpg

  #8  
Old 12-28-2008, 10:51 PM
7773737 7773737 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Woops thought i didnt post

  #9  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:09 AM
Bryce|C Bryce|C is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 73
First, Changing your virtual memory won't really effect much, all that does it use some of your hard drive space as ram, which is extremely slow.
Next, that screenshot of the Taskmanager is that without any of the servers running?
Also, how much hard drive space do you have on the VPS, if you are trying to set a high amount of virtual memory you might be using up all of your available hard drive space, so check that and see if you don't have enough space, thus why you would get that error.
Please go ahead and try these things and let us know what else we can help you with.

  #10  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:29 AM
7773737 7773737 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
No servers are running except for one i HAVE to have on. I have 30 gb of disk space and i was setting the recommended amount. Also, when i tried setting 2000 mb. Still an error

  #11  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:32 AM
j2m2 j2m2 is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jimmy's World! Yeah!
Posts: 150
dude 3GB of RAM and 30GB of Disc Space is umm, who would offer that?
Honestly you can't run a gameserver because virtual memory DOES not effect how HLDS runs. HLDS uses the avliable ram and uses around 20mb on startup and can use up to like 500mb

  #12  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:37 AM
7773737 7773737 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Then what can be the problem?

  #13  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:39 AM
j2m2 j2m2 is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jimmy's World! Yeah!
Posts: 150
they're limiting you. if you dont mind telling can you please tell us the company or simply contact them about the paging problem or the memory limit problem. It seems as if they set it so you can't run programs on that RDP and simply can use it to browse.

  #14  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:41 AM
Bryce|C Bryce|C is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 73
The problem could be any number of things. It could be from your installation of the game, you might have a configuration set wrong, or something of that matter.
I've sent you a PM. Also try to browse around on some popular gaming forums, the steam forums themselves can prove to be very useful, along with a few others if you know where to look around.

  #15  
Old 12-29-2008, 02:31 AM
7773737 7773737 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Okay thanks. I added you on aim but you arent replying

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Penetration Testing Software Cobalt Strike Adds Support for Cloud-based Redirectors Web Hosting News 2014-01-14 14:15:42
A Look at Australian Minecraft Web Host Wombat Servers Web Hosting News 2013-07-09 09:38:51
Outbound Spam Causing Sleepless Nights? Blog 2013-05-13 09:52:21
DigitalOcean Rolls Out Fix for Virtual Server Data Leak Web Hosting News 2013-04-03 10:48:56
How To Deliver Products Customers Will Pay For with David Koston - HostingCon 2012 Web Hosting News 2012-07-18 10:46:16


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?