hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : What the heck

Forum Jump

What the heck

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2009, 12:35 PM

What the heck

Being a total newbie to this web host and site stuff I need some clarification(s) , If I could please get some Help!

What the heck is "bandwidth protection" (some research said something about "Hotlinking")? A host wants (optional)$75.00 for it on top of the yearly cost of $99.00 for the annual hosting cost.

How do I determine what size of stuff I need ? (GB, MB, KB )

What is monthly data transfer, How to pre determine what size I will need?

Is there a charge for monthly traffic to the site?

What the heck am I getting into?

I'm starting to get dizzy!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-24-2009, 12:40 PM
Premium Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Need Help View Post
Being a total newbie to this web host and site stuff I need some clarification(s) , If I could please get some Help!

What the heck is "bandwidth protection" (some research said something about "Hotlinking")? A host wants (optional)$75.00 for it on top of the yearly cost of $99.00 for the annual hosting cost.

It's probably protection to where if you get hacked or have someone trying to abuse your site, you won't be billed in overages. Every host offers different levels of monthly data transfer.

Yes, there's a charge for it. Usually a certain level is included. In the hosting world though, there's a cost for each MB or GB consumed.