hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : Spamcop Fake Emails, Part 2?
Reply

Web Hosting Lounge Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss topics not related to the above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Spamcop Fake Emails, Part 2?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2002, 10:48 AM
TheGAME1264 TheGAME1264 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 770
Question

Spamcop Fake Emails, Part 2?


I recently received an email, allegedly from Spamcop (however, I am very suspicious) with the following subject:

[SpamCop () id: 105796FU] We are going to block your network

The rest of the email was basically a rehash of the spamcop.net front page. Now I have seen fake emails come through what appears to an open relay on the Spamcop server; however, I'm not totally sure, and this one came from the julianhaight.com mail server.

Has anyone seen anything like this?

Thanks.

__________________
Is Canada the best? Noo Doot Aboot It!
"And on the eighth...day...God...created...Mankind. WHY WAS HE HAVING SUCH A BAD DAY?" -- Mick Foley

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-07-2002, 10:52 AM
JTY JTY is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 5,976
I received one. The headers looked legit.

Except it was the same ID as the one you posted.

__________________
John T. Yocum -- Fluid Hosting
Shared - VPS - Dedicated - Colocation

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2002, 11:44 AM
skylab skylab is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,074
yeah, alot of big spamming groups are attacking spamcop and i do believe julianhaight.com is one of them. search for spamcop here, you'll find out more...i read about it in one of the posts.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-07-2002, 01:36 PM
OldOne OldOne is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 167
This is news to me.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2002, 01:42 PM
JG JG is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally posted by skylab
yeah, alot of big spamming groups are attacking spamcop and i do believe julianhaight.com is one of them.
I thought that Julian Haight is the name of the person that runs SpamCop

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2002, 05:06 PM
amusive.com amusive.com is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,082
I just received A LOT of these. The headers are well faked to appear to come from spamcop domains (or the julianheight domain) but they actually do not. Check the IP that they come off of, mine were off of Valueweb.net's network.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2002, 11:55 PM
gtrplayer gtrplayer is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 137
agreed...i'm in the same boat. i got one of those posts today and i went to spamcop and checked my ip address for a domain that doesn't have an email server and doggone it...it's listed.

i've asked the folks at spamcop to take me off the list but you know how that goes...quick on...and "we'll get around to it" off.

__________________
"If you come to a fork in the road...take it"

Yogi Berra

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2002, 03:49 PM
Tina J Tina J is offline
Invented the Internet
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 9,675
They've addressed this issue here:

http://www.julianhaight.com/forgery.shtml

__________________
||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-09-2002, 01:49 AM
TheGAME1264 TheGAME1264 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 770
Quote from that page:

Quote:
If you would like to contact someone at spamcop about this, you can send email to deputies@admin.spamcop.net. But please refrain from doing so.
Isn't that somewhat contradictory? "We don't want to hear from you but please talk to us if you like."

__________________
Is Canada the best? Noo Doot Aboot It!
"And on the eighth...day...God...created...Mankind. WHY WAS HE HAVING SUCH A BAD DAY?" -- Mick Foley

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-09-2002, 01:53 AM
amusive.com amusive.com is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,082
Quote:
Originally posted by TheGAME1264
Quote from that page:



Isn't that somewhat contradictory? "We don't want to hear from you but please talk to us if you like."
No. They have contact information but would prefer you don't contact them.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Email Security Firm eleven Finds Drive-By Malware on the Rise Web Hosting News 2012-10-18 13:21:25
CIRA Warns .CA Registrants of Fake Domain Renewal Email Phishing Scam Web Hosting News 2012-08-10 11:02:44
eleven Report for June Sees 927.4 Percent Rise in Virus-Infected Emails Web Hosting News 2012-06-07 15:33:50
UK Police e-Crime Unit Shuts Down More Than 2,000 Fake Online Stores Web Hosting News 2011-11-23 21:50:33
Security Firm Symantec Report Finds Spammers Using Fake URL-Shorteners Web Hosting News 2011-05-30 15:41:52


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?