Heres all the correspondance we've had with fasthosts.co.uk. As you can see they're really bending over backwards to help us!
-----Original Message-----
From: James Cross [mailto:james.cross@inspiringtech.com]
Sent: 20 March 2001 19:01
To: abuse@fasthosts.co.uk
Cc: Lindsey Rodgers; Hugh Choudhury; Kevin Smith; Tommy Lai
Subject: COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT
Our company has been informed of a serious copyright infringement by one of
your clients. A Mr Michael Roberts, currently has a site
http://www.Web********.com hosted with you. Mr Roberts has blatantly registered a
domain extension similar to our own
http://www.WebHostDir.com with the intention of
profiteering from our brand, which has been established since 1997.
On the 29th of September we held a meeting with your client to establish his
intentions for the development of his site. We made our legal stance very
clear and Mr Roberts provided us with a signed letter stating that he had no
intention of developing the site for commercial purposes.
However it has now come to our attention that Mr Roberts has placed our
companies own header images, logo and page content into his own site. This
action is being regarded extremely seriously by our Board of Directors. Our
technical team have taken screen shots to substantiate our claims, and will
be forwarding it to our legal advisors by close of play 21st March 2001, if
no action has been taken by either yourselves or MR Roberts.
We recognise that as a host it is extremely difficult to ascertain the full
intentions of your clients hosting requirements, and as such do not hold you
directly responsible to date for Mr Roberts actions.
Please have one of your management team contact me urgently so that this
matter does not escalate any further.
-----Original Message-----
From: Erin-Lee Mills [mailto:abuse@fasthosts.co.uk]
Sent: 21 March 2001 09:31
To: james.cross@inspiringtech.com
Subject: RE: COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT
Dear Mr Cross,
Thank you for your email regarding
http://www.web********.com.
With reference to the content of your email, I can confirm that the
appropriate action will been taken as soon as possible.
In the meantime if you have any other query's please don't hesitate to
contact us.
Yours sincerely
Miss Erin Mills
Abuse Investigation Team
Fasthosts Internet Ltd
abuse@fasthosts.co.uk
-----Original Message-----
From: James Cross [mailto:james.cross@inspiringtech.com]
Sent: 21 March 2001 09:51
To: Erin-Lee Mills
Cc: Hugh Choudhury; Kevin Smith; Tommy Lai; Lindsey Rodgers
Subject: RE: COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT
Miss Mills,
Can you please confirm that the offending site will be deactivated
immediately. As stated in my original message I would like one of your
management team to contact us immediately so that this matter may be
resolved. Since first reporting the infringement, the site has remained
operational for 15 hours.
James Cross
Managing Director
-----Original Message-----
From: Erin-Lee Mills [mailto:abuse@fasthosts.co.uk]
Sent: 21 March 2001 12:10
To: james.cross@inspiringtech.com
Subject: RE: COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT
Dear Mr Cross,
Thank you for your email.
I appreciate the urgency of this matter and assure you that reasonable steps
are being taken to resolve this situation as quickly as possible.
Thank you for your patience in this matter.
Yours sincerely,
Miss Erin Mills
Abuse Investigation Team
Fasthosts Internet Ltd
abuse@fasthosts.co.uk
Miss Mills
We would like an explanation as to why you have not yet:
1. Contacted us by phone, as requested.
2. Deactivated the offending web site.
This matter does not require deep investigation. A 5 min visit to both sites will reveal the obvious nature of their offence.
I believe your technical directors direct line is: +44 1452 538 484 Would the process be speeded up if I were to contact him directly?
Since us first reporting this matter we have made further discoveries relating to your offending client. The site
http://www.carsharecentral.com designed by the same company and again hosted on your servers, is again blatantly displaying design features taken from within our site
http://www.webhostdir.com.
I should inform you that we are the industry leader in evaluation and independent assessment of hosting providers. So far your company, a current award winner within our site, is failing to perform its role as a leading UK provider.
James Cross
Managing Director