Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: DNS servers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7

    DNS servers

    I have a new reseller account that I set up through Voxtreme and I have the IP address to register my own DNS servers. I have not had to do this before. Where do I register these DNS servers with the IP addresses?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    206
    with the Registrar, where your domain is registered.
    Normally u have to login into the Control Panel(domain manager) of the domain which is available at the Registrar's website.

    And then you should find the way to Register Nameservers.

    If not contact ur Registrar.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    43
    Originally posted by mk123
    with the Registrar, where your domain is registered.
    Normally u have to login into the Control Panel(domain manager) of the domain which is available at the Registrar's website.

    And then you should find the way to Register Nameservers.

    If not contact ur Registrar.
    Some registrars donīt have this option, i.e foreign registrars.

    I have used http://www.netsol.com/cgi-bin/makechanges/itts/host
    It's free and doesn't require domain registered with them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Arabia
    Posts
    678
    Never used Voxtreme, but they are one of the greats

    Your welcome letter should include 2 IP numbers - input both with your registrar. If you mention their name it would help us a bit.

    IF your domain registrar is netsol - move it out first.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    206
    yup voxtreme is great... and yeah they have 2 IPs included in their welcome/ setup email.

    Netsol yeah is really pain in *** if u have to modify the records... my customer and me both failed to move anything there so i asked them to transfer to other registrar and it was breeze..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7
    I am currently using NetworkSolutions. What registrar would you suggest that I switch to.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,857
    GoDaddy is held in high acclaim. http://www.godaddy.com

    Matt
    Matthew Russell | Namecheap
    Twitter: @mattdrussell

    www.namecheap.com - hosting from a registrar DONE RIGHT!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    43
    Originally posted by BARNE
    I am currently using NetworkSolutions. What registrar would you suggest that I switch to.
    http://gkg.net

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    507

    Re: DNS servers

    Originally posted by BARNE
    I have a new reseller account that I set up through Voxtreme and I have the IP address to register my own DNS servers. I have not had to do this before. Where do I register these DNS servers with the IP addresses?
    If you are using Networksolutions and you are using you own DNS for the first time, you will need to enter both your DNS and it's IP address. It should ask you for both but if you have a problem you will need to call them directly to give them this information.
    Good luck. I had a lot of problems with Networksolutions in the past and I won't use them ever again.
    GoDaddy is the best. Great service and some of the lowest rates that I have seen.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Boca
    Posts
    11
    From here on, just use godaddy.com. It didn't even take a full 2 days to propogate.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Arabia
    Posts
    678
    Originally posted by BARNE
    I am currently using NetworkSolutions. What registrar would you suggest that I switch to.
    Star*Gate - banned here but great
    www.registerFly.com - an eNom relseler, better than me
    www.GoDaddy.com - or their www.WildWestDomains.com if you have more than 3 domains with net sols.
    www.Joker.com - a bit wierd but good.
    www.DotSter.com - Greeeee - my competion


    Just stay from register.com - and the rest are ok.

  12. #12
    Please help me :
    I have this option in my domain name control panel, so is it what I need to create nameservers ?
    --------------------------------------------
    Supply DNS Information" Option [For Technical Customers]: Resolve by the following DNS information (add $5.00 per year extra)


    Please fill in at least one DNS A-record in the fields below. Host names can contain English letters, English numbers, and hyphens ('-'). Note however that host names must start and end with a letter or number.


    "A-Record Host Name " - " IP Address "
    "examples: www, ftp, mail" - "example: 10.1.1.3"
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    So is it what I need ?

    Regards,

  13. #13
    Even if Netsol isn't your registrar, you're probably going to have to go mirror them over there as well- or risk having customers call you to say that Netsol doesn't recognize your nameservers....
    Applimetrix Web Systems
    Serious Hosting Solutions
    http://www.applimetrix.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •