Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    259

    httpd.conf questions

    Hi,

    If I modified httpd.conf file, do i have to restart httpd daemon?


    pls help on this


    thanks

  2. #2
    yes, /path/to/apache/apachectl restart
    Powered by AMD & FreeBSD.
    "Documentation is like sex:
    when it is good, it is very, very good;
    and when it is bad, it is better than nothing."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Cornfield
    Posts
    131
    killall -HUP httpd
    Less typing. Won't work if you just installed an SSL cert, tho.
    Fire extinguisher extraordinare
    -------------------------------
    FastServers.Net NOC Admin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    51

    hi

    How long normally take restart.

    Thanks
    shan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    339
    Originally posted by Miha
    yes, /path/to/apache/apachectl restart

    actually... i think its /mypath/to/apache/bin/apachectl restart isnt it?

    and it shouldnt take more than a couple seconds for it to restart... should just do...


    [user@host host] # /mypath/to/apache/bin/apachectl restart
    [user@host host] #

    that, and if there are no errors, it has been restarted without a problem...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sirkali Rural Tamilnadu
    Posts
    738
    hey bud hold on,

    when he says /path/to/blah/blah

    he means something like

    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl
    I am now happily selling Natural Herbal Hair Oil - happy to be so far removed from technology!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sirkali Rural Tamilnadu
    Posts
    738
    httpd will restart before you can say wtf!

    apachectl is preferable to kill -HUP httpd because apachectl graceful does a syntax check of httpd.conf [apachectl configtest] and then starts
    I am now happily selling Natural Herbal Hair Oil - happy to be so far removed from technology!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    655
    Is there anyway to restart apache without causing disruption to visitors for even 2 seconds?

    For instance i have entered a new virtualhost block and then i do a httpd restart, is there any better alternative to this so that services for existing visitors are not disrupted while the current configuration is reloadeD?

  9. #9
    Originally posted by hostchamp
    Is there anyway to restart apache without causing disruption to visitors for even 2 seconds?

    For instance i have entered a new virtualhost block and then i do a httpd restart, is there any better alternative to this so that services for existing visitors are not disrupted while the current configuration is reloadeD?

    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl stop;
    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl startssl

    (Or start in place of startssl, but if you aren't using SSL, you can just resgart or graceful.)

    kill -HUP, or whatever.

    Graceful would be best if it would work with SSL, because it will keep the current sessions connecting. I'd not worry about it other than that. Run configtest first to make sure things are okay so you don't have to have it down for those few seconds while you re-edit the file to fix a typo or something.
    Robert McGregor
    URL: http://www.2host.com
    Email: robertm@(nospam)2host.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    852
    Dont worry about the 2 seconds nobody will notice.

  11. #11
    Originally posted by goodness0001
    Dont worry about the 2 seconds nobody will notice.
    Unless they are downloading a large-ish file from the web site via http. But, what can you do.
    Robert McGregor
    URL: http://www.2host.com
    Email: robertm@(nospam)2host.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Westbury, LI NY
    Posts
    1,705
    Originally posted by 2host.com
    Unless they are downloading a large-ish file from the web site via http. But, what can you do.
    Blame your upstream! (Isnt that what everyone does?)

  13. #13
    Originally posted by Acronym BOY


    Blame your upstream! (Isnt that what everyone does?)
    I guess I'm out of the loop. lol Besides, wouldn't it be the policy to blame their ISP and keep the blame far away from anything related to _your_ service? I think we're really on to something! lol
    Robert McGregor
    URL: http://www.2host.com
    Email: robertm@(nospam)2host.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Westbury, LI NY
    Posts
    1,705
    Always blame their ISP. And when they call the brother across the country and he gets the same results, than you say its your upstream!

  15. #15
    If worse and they show the upstream looks fine, you can always just say "Your web site has overloaded the server. WHAT DID YOU DO!?". lol
    Robert McGregor
    URL: http://www.2host.com
    Email: robertm@(nospam)2host.com

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Westbury, LI NY
    Posts
    1,705
    Tell them the taliban hacked their website and now the server is being carted away by the FBI for further examination by the NSA and will be back within 9 months.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    655
    What is the differrence between the following three ways of restarting apache;

    1) apachectl stop
    apachectl start

    2) httpd restart

    3) killall -HUP httpd

  18. #18
    just simple /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd restart

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    114
    You can reload Apache without killing off current connections using /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd reload

    That's the Redhat command, not sure is it's the same for other dists.

    Matt

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    655
    there is no such command as;
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd reload

    you can suffix httpd with following;{start|stop|restart|condrestart|status|fullstatus|graceful|help|configtest}

    What does the following do;
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd graceful

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    114
    There is on my Redhat 7.1 box:

    [root@ns matt]# /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd
    Usage: /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd {start|stop|restart|reload|condrestart|status}

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    655
    our apache versions would differn then, what ur apache ver.?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •