Web Hosting Talk


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Hotmail sending error
Reply

Hosting Security and Technology Configuring and optimizing web hosting servers and operating systems, developing administration scripts, building servers, protecting against hackers, and general security (SSL certificates, etc.)

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2008, 02:18 PM
dnout dnout is offline
View Beta Profile
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 75
Hotmail sending error

Hi there,

I am getting this error when sending emails to hotmail.

SMTP error from remote mail server after MAIL FROM:<me@me.com> SIZE=2808:
host mx2.hotmail.com [65.54.244.40]: 550 SC-001 Mail rejected by Windows Live Hotmail for policy reasons. Reasons for rejection may be related to content with spam-like characteristics or IP/domain reputation problems. If you are not an email/network admin please contact your E-mail/Internet Service Provider for help. Email/network admins, please visit http://postmaster.live.com for email delivery information and support


Any ideas how I can fix this?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-18-2008, 03:07 PM
diligent diligent is offline
View Beta Profile
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 445
There are many reasons hotmail could reject e-mails. If the server is yours, do you have rDNS, SenderID & SPF records set up? Is the mail server IP on any blacklists? From the server can you telnet to hotmails mail servers?

If the server isn't yours I'd suggest contacting your hosting provider and they should know how to fix it for you!

__________________
DILIGENThost.com, Canadian hosting based on high-availability w/ 24/7 bilingual (French) support & 100% uptime -> Toll free phone support
cPanel/WHM 11 + Fantastico, PHP4&5, Private nameservers, Unlimited domains & features, Self Serve DNS...Shared / Reseller / VPS / Dedicated | Webmasters-Inside.com - Come join our new webmaster forum!

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2008, 03:21 PM
servertechs servertechs is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: India
Posts: 270
please visit http://postmaster.live.com for email delivery information and support

__________________
HIRE TECHS ON A MONTHLY BASIS
○●○ 24/7 Support for webhosting ○●○ Windows | linux | Virtuozzo | Open VZ
http://www.servertechs.net/
sales@servertechs.net | AIM servertechs

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-19-2008, 04:58 AM
hosting_we3cares hosting_we3cares is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 320
Hi,

Is me@me.com a valid email id?

Hotmail has very stringent email policies and mails from most of the datacenter IPs are filtered by them nowadays.

You may contact your datacenter/hosting company regarding this.

<<signatures to be set up in your profile>>


Last edited by bear; 09-27-2008 at 12:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2008, 09:11 AM
Srv24x7 Srv24x7 is offline
View Beta Profile
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 433
Two things very important if you send emails hotmail. Setup RDNS and SPF record on the server, Then make sure you have antispam software running with MTA agent. If you still have problem post a ticket with them.

__________________
24x7servermanagement.com
Professional Server Management Services
Server Management, Server Security, Server Monitoring.


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2008, 04:35 PM
dnout dnout is offline
View Beta Profile
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 75
I am using cpanel.. is there a way I can fix it through that?

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2008, 08:42 AM
geeksvps geeksvps is offline
View Beta Profile
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 28

__________________
www.Geeksvps.com
Virtuozzo VPS Hosting (Fully Managed )
Full Server Management


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2008, 05:55 PM
m5l5 m5l5 is offline
View Beta Profile
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 20
An outright rejection indicates something is not setup correctly.

If you can send email to a different domain (e.g. gmail), please do that and provide the complete header of the email. If you omit any information, please indicate that. The header will have a lot of valuable information.

Is Reverse DNS setup properly? (Remember, the owner of the IP block has to update the Reverse DNS record, and you need a PTR record in your DNS records.

Did you setup SPF properly? Most providers like hotmail will reject/flag mail without SPF. This is added to your DNS record.

Do you use domainkeys? This is not required, but will help.

I would also do searchs to see if your IP's are clean and are not flagged.

If all the above are setup correclty, the header is clean, the ips are clean, and you are still having a problem sending email. I would then contact them directly.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement: