Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: MySQL with RaQ4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512

    MySQL with RaQ4

    I currently have a Cobalt RaQ4 with MySQL installed on it (I used a pkg, forgot exactally where I got it from). Whats the easiest way to actually administrate the SQL aside from manually adding databases on the command line. Is there another pkg for some type of web based admin tool?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,354
    Yep. Use phpMyadmin http://www.solarspeed.net (pkg) or if it's just for your own use get the latest source build from the official site
    Blacknight
    ICANN accredited domain registrar

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    How is one supposed to get this thing working? The first thing I tried after installation was using existing MySQL logins (without success). Then I tried adding the control user as per the Documentation on the site and it still did not let me login with that. Then it talks of modifying the config.inc.php3 . Where is this file located? What am I doing wrong?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,354
    Did you try to install from source, or are you using the pkg?
    Blacknight
    ICANN accredited domain registrar

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    I'm using the pkg, all it said on that site was to install the pkg and then phpMyAdmin would be accessable from http://site/phpmyadmin... it does infact have an authentication box pop up when I go there, but nothing I try will actually let me in to play with it, so im assuming more configuration needs to be done and further assuming it involves this config.inc.php3 file which I have no clue where to locate.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,354
    The popup is probably looking for the same username/password pair as the virtual domain.

    If you just want it for your own use, try the source version
    Blacknight
    ICANN accredited domain registrar

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    I've tried that as well. I'm actually looking to use this for commercial hosting.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    As I mentioned previously, where is the config.inc.php3 located? I have a strong feeling editing that file is a major part of this process.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,354
    I have an alternative for you (I couldn't find a .php3 but a .php - but nevermind)
    Uninstall the version you have:
    http://pkgmaster.com/howto/cobalt_uninstall_howto.shtml
    and use this one instead (which definitely works!)
    http://www.cobaltworld.com/modules.p...eq=getit&lid=7
    You'll need to set the root MySQL password back to the default 'cobalt-mysql ' for the installation to work.

    If you have changed the root mysql password run this command:
    mysqladmin -uroot -pORIG-PASSWORD password cobalt-mysql

    BEFORE installing.

    If you haven't, just install the pkg, then run:
    mysqladmin -uroot -pcobalt-mysql password NEW-PASSWORD

    PhpMyAdmin will then be available at:
    http://somevirtualsite/phpMyAdmin/index.php

    this does work!
    Blacknight
    ICANN accredited domain registrar

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    Thanks. Whenever I try to install this pkg it runs like "mysql -p -u" several hundred times and it just hangs while it installs and then needs a cold boot. Am I just not waiting long enough for the installation process or is something wrong?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    308
    Did you uninstall the other version of MYSQL ?

    If not that could cause the trouble.
    http://www.HaVa.nl
    Reliable hosting and Colocation

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    What version is required to make that pkg work? I currently run 3.23.37 which is the latest version I see a pkg for.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    308
    in the pkg the mysql is already included you dont need to install them separate....
    http://www.HaVa.nl
    Reliable hosting and Colocation

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    I was able to get everything working with the solarspeed package, it required me to link a couple of files before it would start working. Thanks for all your help!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,354
    Would you mind giving us a few details of what you had to do?
    Blacknight
    ICANN accredited domain registrar

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    Sure, on this particular system I had to:

    # rm -rf /tmp/mysql.sock
    # ln -s /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock /tmp/mysql.sock

    Hope that works for everyone. Just for clairifcation i'm using the MySQL pkg (from pkgmaster.com?). Thanks again for your help.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,354
    Thanks for the clarification - there's nothing more frustrating than a solution without a solution (if u catch my drift)
    Blacknight
    ICANN accredited domain registrar

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    308
    Did you create something different on your box then ? Cause I have never ever had something similar on cobalt boxes like discribe and I have seen a lot of cobalt the past few years.

    Or is it just the cobalt misery ehhhh mistery again.....
    http://www.HaVa.nl
    Reliable hosting and Colocation

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    You've never seen MySQL/phpmyadmin on a Cobalt? I'm not sure I follow you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •