hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : How to Check Port Speed and RAM?
Reply

Forum Jump

How to Check Port Speed and RAM?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 180

How to Check Port Speed and RAM?


Hey guys

I was wondering how to check my servers port speed?

I know I ordered a 100Mbps connection with my dedicated server, but I'd like to see if it's actually running at that or if I got ripped and need to complain. I have whm and cpanel (just saying in case it has the option to check and I didnt see)

Same thing with RAM. I just wanted to check if I received the correct amount.

Thanks!



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 112
ifconfig or /sbin/ifconfig should tell you what speed its connected at.

For ram you need to type command: free

Not sure what operating system you have commands might be different for different operating systems.

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewk View Post
ifconfig or /sbin/ifconfig should tell you what speed its connected at.

For ram you need to type command: free

Not sure what operating system you have commands might be different for different operating systems.
ahhh, i don't use the direct connection thing because i know i'm an idiot and will mess something up

is there any external website that can help me?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 112
What operating system is your server running? Is there a control panel?

  #5  
Old
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,665
ethtool eth0 | grep -i speed

__________________
EZPZ Hosting - Dependable and Affordable UK and US Web Hosting
LiteSpeed Powered cPanel Shared with R1Soft and Softaculous | Budget VPS, Managed VPS and Dedicated | Shoutcast
Reseller Hosting Specialists | WHMCS-Based End User Support | Unlimited SSLs | CloudFlare
99.9% Uptime Guarantee | 24/7 Support | 30 Day Money Back Guarantee |

  #6  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 337
Check this link of for commands to check RAM status

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 482
You can simply use the commands below and no need for an external script to check ram usage and port speed.

[1] Use "mii-tool" to determine port speed.
[2] Use "free -m" to check the RAM status.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Amazon CloudFront DNS Service Suffers Pre-Thanksgiving Outage Web Hosting News 2014-11-28 10:19:30
UK ISPs Deliver Advertised Broadband Speeds to Only 10 Percent of Customers: Report Web Hosting News 2014-11-18 17:04:09
South Korea, Hong Kong Provide Fastest Internet Speeds: Akamai Report Web Hosting News 2014-10-03 09:40:14
WHIR Events 2013 kicks off in Dallas next week Blog 2013-01-18 13:54:31
Are you ready for Speed Networking at WHIR Events? Blog 2013-01-18 07:00:04


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?