Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    180

    How to Check Port Speed and RAM?

    Hey guys

    I was wondering how to check my servers port speed?

    I know I ordered a 100Mbps connection with my dedicated server, but I'd like to see if it's actually running at that or if I got ripped and need to complain. I have whm and cpanel (just saying in case it has the option to check and I didnt see)

    Same thing with RAM. I just wanted to check if I received the correct amount.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    112
    ifconfig or /sbin/ifconfig should tell you what speed its connected at.

    For ram you need to type command: free

    Not sure what operating system you have commands might be different for different operating systems.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    180
    Quote Originally Posted by andrewk View Post
    ifconfig or /sbin/ifconfig should tell you what speed its connected at.

    For ram you need to type command: free

    Not sure what operating system you have commands might be different for different operating systems.
    ahhh, i don't use the direct connection thing because i know i'm an idiot and will mess something up

    is there any external website that can help me?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    112
    What operating system is your server running? Is there a control panel?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,665
    ethtool eth0 | grep -i speed
    EZPZ Hosting - Dependable and Affordable UK and US Web Hosting
    LiteSpeed Powered cPanel Shared with R1Soft and Softaculous | Budget VPS, Managed VPS and Dedicated | Shoutcast
    Reseller Hosting Specialists | WHMCS-Based End User Support | Unlimited SSLs | CloudFlare
    99.9% Uptime Guarantee | 24/7 Support | 30 Day Money Back Guarantee |

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    337
    Check this link of for commands to check RAM status

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    483
    You can simply use the commands below and no need for an external script to check ram usage and port speed.

    [1] Use "mii-tool" to determine port speed.
    [2] Use "free -m" to check the RAM status.

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •