hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : Google FREE Webhosting... scam?
Reply

Web Hosting Lounge Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss topics not related to the above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Google FREE Webhosting... scam?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2008, 01:16 AM
Ecchi Ecchi is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 55

Google FREE Webhosting... scam?


I received an email today which claims it's from google at exactly 12:00am.
Quote:
Hello,
Dear Gmail customer
After our free email services we offer you to sing up for our free hosting services.
This service currently is in beta test.
And we choose you to test this services and report us any bug you may find.We give you unlimited webspace on your own domain name you must only change your dns services to ns1.google.com and ns2.google.com and enter your domain name in our special control panel.
Our servers are linux based and we support PHP, SSL (Secure Shell),FTP,Stats,CGI,Perl,Unlimited email address and finaly 500 MySQL Database.
Notice :
Dont sell this invitation code in auction website that may cause we disable your account in the future.
Your invitation code :
<<snipped suspicious link>>
Need help ? Hosting-Support@google.com
Google Webhosting Team
I thought it's pretty weird since there's spelling errors and i never even heard of google having free webhost. Also in my gmail, when i clicked details of that message, its from www.explorer.websitewelcome.com. Upon whois www.gmail-webhost.com, it's hosted by theplanet. That invitation code leads to a login but even if u submit without the right login, it still leads you to the Google App page. One of my friends actually login that form and I'm afraid his account will be compromise. If it indeed is a scam, I hope theplanet will shut it down soon. Both of those domain are hosted on theplanet too.


Last edited by anon-e-mouse; 08-12-2008 at 02:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-12-2008, 01:21 AM
poetren poetren is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 77
Definitely looks like a scam to me. Nice spelling of the word "sign", along with a bunch of other grammatical errors. Did you forward the e-mail to The Planet?

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2008, 01:29 AM
amusive.com amusive.com is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,082
Google doesn't use PHP and the login form wouldn't just post to "login.php" sitting in the same folder.

Forward the email to TP.

__________________
Jim Reardon - jim/amusive.com
SiteSurvival Professional, Expensive Hosting -=- Shrink URLs Down For Posting!

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 08-12-2008, 01:39 AM
Ecchi Ecchi is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 55
I just did. Hopefully they'll take action soon.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2008, 01:47 AM
cristibighea cristibighea is offline
Custom Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,602
You may also want to click on the More button in your gmail message and report the message for phishing.

__________________
478east
High Bandwidth Servers
Custom Hosting Solutions

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2008, 01:56 AM
HostingFuze HostingFuze is offline
Living in the Virtual World
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,081
Looks like the site is suspended now

__________________
» VPSFuze.com - Performance should be noticeable - VPS Hosting at its best.
» HostingFuze.com - Affordable & Reliable Shared & Master Reseller hosting services

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2008, 02:20 AM
ewhost ewhost is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by VPSByte View Post
Looks like the site is suspended now
Seems to be back up.

I wonder why they're trying to steal google accounts tho. Probably due to sensitive information in their gmail accounts (purchases, invoices, credit card information, address, passwords, etc.)

__________________
Dating Revolution Method - Book on how to meet and attract women

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2008, 02:25 AM
JLHC JLHC is offline
James Lee
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,755
http://www.gmail-webhost.com/ seems to be showing a blank page here.

__________________
James L.
AspirationHosting | US & UK Magento Hosting + Global CDN
NoFrillsReseller | Simple & Affordable Reseller Hosting

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2008, 02:27 AM
kiler kiler is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Got the same thing. Phishing scam =\

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2008, 02:34 AM
Ecchi Ecchi is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 55
You need to click this link:

<<snipped suspicious link>>


Last edited by anon-e-mouse; 08-12-2008 at 02:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-12-2008, 02:56 AM
kiler kiler is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
The link probably verifies if your email is valid.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-12-2008, 06:39 AM
NickCatal NickCatal is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 111
Google would probably offer Python with their hosting too

Google uses Python EXTENSIVELY... although Google Search/News/etc is all C++ / Java

__________________
Nick Catalano
Account Manager at Steadfast Networks
Email/XMPP: nick @ steadfast.net | AIM: CatalanoNick

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-12-2008, 07:35 AM
sailor sailor is offline
cloud beats dedicated ;)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 4,419
I would not be surprised to find this for real sometime in the not too distant future though.

everyone is predicting this as an eventuality

it will wreck shared hosting.

__________________
Experience the real cloud at GNAX
WWW.GNAX.NET
VMWare based cloud
Isn't it time to get off of dedicateds?

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-12-2008, 07:45 AM
ElTino ElTino is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 270
the dude who wrote this email doesn't have the language and communication capabilities to work for Google

poor grammar and a truck load of spelling mistakes - that is a red flag

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-12-2008, 07:52 AM
FS - Mike FS - Mike is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 1,307
Totally a scam. Don't sign up whatever you do, you'll find your account quickly hijacked.

The best thing you can do is sned a copy of the e-mail to abuse@theplanet.com and a copy to Google to see what they say. Your friend will need to change their passwords, if they have not already done so.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
50edc946-08dc-4a45-a00c-723645a79962 Listing 2013-03-05 18:25:24
50edc945-d6a0-4f65-ab3b-720e45a79962 Listing 2013-03-05 18:25:23
50edc945-6d28-4e14-9772-721845a79962 Listing 2013-03-05 18:25:23
50edc945-ea7c-432c-b317-722045a79962 Listing 2013-03-05 18:25:23
50edc945-8ef8-49c2-87a0-722d45a79962 Listing 2013-03-05 18:25:24


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?