hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Windows Server 2003 - What edition to go with?
Reply

Forum Jump

Windows Server 2003 - What edition to go with?

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2008, 02:08 PM
Lokei Lokei is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 45

Windows Server 2003 - What edition to go with?


Hey Guys,

Just need some advice...

I've been working on a large online browser game for the last year on and off - it's due to open for beta in Oct. This game is coded in PHP/AJAX with MySQL. It's quite heavy on different graphics with characters, items, illustrations etc. It will also have a selection of Flash games to play. Similar gaming sites have more than 1000 users online in peak hours and we estimate that and more within the first 3-5 months of opening.

I want to open my site on a Windows Server as I'm a lot more familiar with Windows (Having an MCP for Windows Server 2003). I am unsure however what edition to go with. At first I thought Windows Server 2003 Web Edition (Being a website!), but this only supports up to 2gb of ram I believe? and may prove to be an issue if we need to upgrade due to the high demand of online users.
I understand I can have more than one server, but would you recommend another edition?

I haven't managed a server solely for the web before so any help is much appreciated


Last edited by Lokei; 07-17-2008 at 02:16 PM.


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-17-2008, 02:31 PM
Softsys Hosting Softsys Hosting is offline
Quality Guaranteed..
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA, Singapore, Amsterdam
Posts: 2,987
Web edition is a lot more restricted. I believe, 64-bit Standard edition should be good for you.

- Rick

__________________
Softsys Hosting - 100% Performance Oriented Hosting - From Denver & Chicago (US), Amsterdam (EU) & Singapore (Asia)

KVM Linux VPS WHT SPL Windows VPS (With More RAM) IaaS Cloud VM's WorldWide Servers With Private Network

  #3  
Old 07-17-2008, 03:02 PM
sprintserve sprintserve is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,009
Web edition supports only 2GB RAM and 2-Way Symmetric Multiprocessing. Thus you would need to first and foremost look at the server you have. For example if you have a Dual Quad Core server, your would need at least the Enterprise versions. I suggest you go through this chart to work out the licensing level you need based on hardware and the features you need: http://technet2.microsoft.com/window....mspx?mfr=true

__________________
Like us on Facebook to qualify for discounts!
http://www.sprintserve.net
Offering: | Internap FCP Bandwidth! | Rebootless Kernel Updates! | Magento Optimized Hosting | Wordpress Hosting |
Services: | Managed Multiple Cores 64bit Servers | Server Management |

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 07-17-2008, 06:38 PM
Lokei Lokei is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 45
Thank you both for your replies.. it's looking more likely that one of the Enterprise versions will be the best bet.

  #5  
Old 07-17-2008, 07:19 PM
djorgensen djorgensen is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,003
Standard Edition.

Enterprise edication is not needed every, unless you have a demand more lots of ram in 32 bit or you want to cluster.

Standard is MORE than enough

__________________
--
Damien Jorgensen
www.permoveo.ltd.uk

  #6  
Old 07-17-2008, 07:25 PM
Kody Kody is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Providence, UT
Posts: 891
I would also recommend you to the 64-bit Standard Edition.

__________________
Kody R.
Sr. Operations Analyst
100TB.com -> Awesome dedicated servers. Check out our server outlet!
VPS.NET -> Cloud Hosting. 18 Locations. Check out our website!

  #7  
Old 07-17-2008, 07:35 PM
XFactorServers XFactorServers is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,333
64 Bit is what you will want to go with.

  #8  
Old 07-17-2008, 07:46 PM
snelson snelson is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 30
Not sure if this is relevant but if hosting with Microsoft SPLA using Standard or Enterprise editions works out very expensive as the unauthenticated option has been dropped.

  #9  
Old 07-18-2008, 12:33 PM
Lokei Lokei is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 45
Would any of you recommended a control panel?

  #10  
Old 07-18-2008, 12:39 PM
cristibighea cristibighea is offline
Custom Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,602
If you really need one, either Plesk or DotnetPanel.

__________________
478east
High Bandwidth Servers
Custom Hosting Solutions

  #11  
Old 07-18-2008, 12:39 PM
Softsys Hosting Softsys Hosting is offline
Quality Guaranteed..
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA, Singapore, Amsterdam
Posts: 2,987
You can consider HELM 3 or DNP on windows box...

- Rick

__________________
Softsys Hosting - 100% Performance Oriented Hosting - From Denver & Chicago (US), Amsterdam (EU) & Singapore (Asia)

KVM Linux VPS WHT SPL Windows VPS (With More RAM) IaaS Cloud VM's WorldWide Servers With Private Network

  #12  
Old 07-18-2008, 01:53 PM
Coolraul Coolraul is offline
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprintserve View Post
Web edition supports only 2GB RAM and 2-Way Symmetric Multiprocessing. Thus you would need to first and foremost look at the server you have. For example if you have a Dual Quad Core server, your would need at least the Enterprise versions. I suggest you go through this chart to work out the licensing level you need based on hardware and the features you need: http://technet2.microsoft.com/window....mspx?mfr=true
Actually, a dual quad only requires Web. Each "core" doesn't count as a CPU. A dual quad core is only 2 cpu's.

__________________
Can't we all just get along

  #13  
Old 07-18-2008, 01:58 PM
djorgensen djorgensen is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,003
Yes microsoft coutns a socket as a CPU nore a core. So if you got yourself a 4 core chip its still one CPU.

I have a 16 core 4x4 box with Sofylayer running Windows 2003 Standard fine

__________________
--
Damien Jorgensen
www.permoveo.ltd.uk

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Microsoft Surpasses Amazon as Largest Windows Hosting Company: Netcraft Web Hosting News 2014-02-27 17:05:44
Microsoft Releases Major Updates of Windows Server, System Center, Intune Web Hosting News 2013-10-18 16:08:17
Rackspace Launches Free Cloud Assessment Tool for Windows Server 2012 Migration Web Hosting News 2013-07-31 13:27:03
Windows Server 2012 on AWS – Amazon Adds Support for the Latest Windows Server OS Web Hosting News 2012-11-20 11:42:31
Web Hosts, Cloud Hosts Launch Services Based on Windows Server 2012 Web Hosting News 2012-09-05 13:51:50


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?